Cookie Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by 79SHALE97
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I made this with my mom's help (I went to her house and she watched the baby while I made these) this past saturday. Super easy. I didnt break out my mom's food processor, but with a rolling pin and a ziplock bag, I didnt need one. One suggestion though if you're crushing the cookies by hand, scrape off the cream filling and sit it aside. I did do this the first time around and what a mess inside the ziplock bag did it make. Second time, I scraped the cream filling off each cookie. After my cookies were crushed, I added the filling AND the cream cheese to the crumbs. Then just mixed everything together by hand. Easy Peasy! The bark I used came in its own tray to melt it in the microwave. Had just enough melted bark leftover to cover some pretzels with! These were so tasty, I had to take the container away from my mom, or else she would have made off with an entire batch! They are that Tasty! :D Saving this in my holiday treat file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made the mistake of using "triple/double" oreos. What a mess! They taste super good but was very difficult to roll. I had to refrigerate them quite awhile to get them to set. I rolled them in white choc bark. Ummmm good but very messy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I loved them! I knew enough to put the balls in the freezer on a cookie sheet like many other recipes that are similar (peanut butter chocolate balls). I used the food processor and then sprinkled in some sea salt to cut the super sweetness. It really did the trick! I used the bulk chocolate from the supermarket as it's better than chips or almond bark (Belgian)and melted in a double boiler. I would add some wax next time to the chocolate to add a bit of thickness and sheen, about the size of a lipstick per batch. That works with well with other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These wre a big hit!!! Everyone said I didn't make enough,out of all the cookies I made they were the first gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Ok if I can do this, anyone can! I made it according to directions. I was confused by comments that recommended not using the whole bar of cream cheese because without that, I couldn't get the dough consistentcy needed. I also did not even taste the cream cheese, so perhaps they were using a different type of cream cheese. The possibilities are endless with this recipe! Hmm what about nutter butter cookies with strawberry cream cheese? PB & J cookies? These taste fantastic and will be my new go to recipes. FYI I found using a small spoon much easier than the fork to roll the balls around in the chocolate. Also I used almond bark as other suggested, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Oh this was a bad idea....so far it's been pretty hard to stay out of these. I used generic oreos, the full cube of cream cheese and almond bark. I did chill the balls before dipping, and while that likely made it easier, I don't really think I have much talent when it comes to dipping. But it didn't matter, they turned out amazing. definitnely not as 'pretty' as they could have, but still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This recipe was amazing I made these for a class project and everybody loved them.=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Delish! I think everything has been said already about this cookie/candy and how to make it. So I only want to add that peppermint bark would be a wonderful coating, especially for the holidays. You can also get the most wonderful peppermint Joe's O's at Trader Joes, although they are seasonal. They also have vanilla, chocolate chocolate and ginger which are divine, a more grown up taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I sent the original recipe to a family friend in the army. She loved them, I had one my self and I changed the candy coating to white chocolate. And it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesweetestchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
these are really delicious! they're very moist and tasty. only thing was, that i didn't need 1 whole pound of vanilla flavored candy coating. it was WAY too much. i ended up dipped all sort of things around my kitchen (pretzels, marshmallow....not bad, actually) and making almond bark, as well. also, i recommend thawing the cookie balls (if taking them straight out of the fridge) for a few minutes. moistens the inside and make the candy coating a little easier to eat. i really enjoyed these cookie balls, and my family loved them. i will definetly make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States