Cooked Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
The flavor was just what I was hoping for, but you have to be careful to cook it too long, or you get really tiny chunks of cooked egg...other than that, i will try this recipe again until I get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I really enjoyed this eggnog. I would suggest you cook the egg mixture for about 7 minutes instead of 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made a fraction of the recipe and thought it was very easy to prepare. I liked the idea of the egg cooked, and once the mixture started to thicken, it thickened very quickly ultimately giving the drink a nice consistency. This recipe wasn’t very sweet, so if you like a sweeter eggnog expect to add additional sugar, but it was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Though not super tasty, that's easy enough to fix, and certainly safer than uncooked when you want to give the kids some eggnog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
i love this recipe but i had to add a little more nutmeg. it tastes great. this recipe is a keeper. But this time i'm going to try adding heavy cream and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mone2066

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I like this recipe, I did use coconut milk due to lactose issues, and I used cinnamon b/c I ran out of nutmeg. I also tempered the eggs to avoid lumpy egg nog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
What I like,it has no alcohol and the eggs are cooked and not raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, New York, USA
Living In: Goodview, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Really good! I took the advice of others and doubled the nutmeg and added allspice. I also used half skim and half half and half (lots of halfs). This took quite a bit longer to cook up and thicken, but I have really heavy pans and a glass cooktop so it could have been that. Make sure to pour this thru a strainer after cooking to avoid pieces of cooked egg in your nog! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was great to use as a guide. My kids like the "Hood" brand of sugar cookie eggnog. This is not as sweet so we did tweak it a bit. We used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. The milk was subbed with half and half. We added 2 tablespoons of vanilla extract. Very rich and decadent but hey, it's the holidays! :) And... for an adult beverage you can add a healthy dose of rum to suit your taste. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I'd give it 5 stars but some adjustments need to be made to get it just right. A blender will take care of any custard chunks. This is a light and refreshing nog, for sweeter and creamier eggnog like the junk from the supermarket add more sugar to taste and two cups less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Iced Coffee

See how to make a quick chocolate coffee milkshake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States