Convenient Vegetarian Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This is a good recipe with lousy instructions. For a 9x13 pan you will only need nine noodles, three layers of three noodles. On top of the first and second layers, put half of the cheese/veggie mixture. On top of the third layer (the top layer) put your last two cups of sauce. I actually used three cups of sauce for the top and sprinkled the top with extra mozzeralla and parmesan. Other adjustments I made: less onion, added garlic, added mushrooms, used fresh broccoli, and LESS oil. There is no way you need a half cup of oil. That really ups the fat content of this recipe. I sprayed the pan with PAM and used one tablespoon of oil. I sauteed on medium and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
The end product was DELICIOUS, but we had to make a lot of adjustments to the proportions so I can't give this 5 stars. Namely, we used 1/2 of a 16 oz box of noodles which is 9 noodles. Also 1 lb of ricotta cheese and 2 eggs was plenty of filling for a 9x13 pan. I agree with another view on sauteeing the veggies in much less oil, abt 1 T is plenty! Will definitely make this (adjusted!) recipe again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I love this recipe. I would recommend using only one package (16 oz) of lasagna noodles. I also used fat free ricotta and fat free mozzarella and did not worry about using the exact amount of vegetables as the recipe calls for. It turned out delicious, even with the fat free ingredients. I've made it twice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Delicious! My husband and I absolutely love this recipe! I used lots of vegetables including carrots, broccoli, zucchini, mushrooms, red and green peppers, and onions. I lightly coated the bottom of a large skillet with olive oil, browned some garlic in the oil, and then sauteed all of the vegetables in it. You do not need all of the olive oil that this recipe calls for, and it is much healthier this way. The garlic added a nice flavor to the vegetables. I also used fat free ricotta and mozzarella to make this recipe a little bit healthier. The taste was not compromised at all. I used no boil lasagna noodles to make this recipe easier, and I only needed one box to make a huge pan. This is a great recipe, but like others have said, be careful with the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Very good recipe. Everyone liked it. I added minced garlic and zucchini to the veggies. I do have to say that you do not need nearly as many lasagna noodles as the recipe calls for, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by NancyCz
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I made several modifications to this recipe and it came out great. Making a smaller batch, I added different veggies in order to keep it interesting and healthy. I used nine noodles (rice lasagna - no boil!), one container of ricotta, 2 eggs. I sauteed yellow onion and then added carrots and asparagus, then broccoli, red bell pepper and cauliflower. I only used about a tablespoon of olive oil and some garlic - and also only used fresh veggies. I can't do frozen veggies. I cooked it for an hour on 350 with tightly wrapped foil and then uncovered and put it under the broiler to finish. We enjoyed it for a Sunday dinner and are both looking forward to the leftovers. One other modification: I put a little tomato sauce on the bottom of the pan before the first layer of pasta. Then I did: cheese/veggie mix, shredded cheese, dollops of sauce, pasta until the top layer where I only did sauce. I was easy on the cheese between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
Very easy to make and a healthy mix, but a bit bland. I'd recommend adding garlic and some oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Good recipe. I used the entire bag of broccoli for the 6 servings size and it turned out okay. Next time I will make sure that the lasagna edges have sauce on them so they won't get hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Making this "as is" was a bit bland and it made a total of THREE lasagnas. (Thankfully I keep foil 9x13 pans on hand, so I was able to freeze the other two for another night). That being said, I like the ease of making more than one dinner's worth and freezing the extras. I only used 16 ounces of noodles and that was more than enough for three pans worth of lasagna. Like other reviewers, I sautéed the veggies in about a tablespoon of EVOO, half a cup is ridiculous. I also added fresh sliced mushrooms, cauliflower, half a small red bell pepper diced, two cloves of garlic and fresh parsley to the veggie mix. I used one very small onion (1 and a half cups is WAY too much for this dish) To the cheese mix I added fresh chopped oregano, rosemary and a little more garlic. (About a teaspoon of diced garlic) Otherwise it was pretty good. And the family loved it. I will be making this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
we liked this alot...even my meat eaters! I cooked it all and froze half. It cooked well from frozen but took over 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States