Consomme Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
We really liked this recipe. Tasty, filling and fast. I didn't have any consomme so I used a can of french onion soup (in addition to the sliced onion) and it was very good, but we are onion lovers. Will definitely make again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
You might need to add an extra can of consomme'AND CUT OUT OR ONLY USE 1/4 C. OF WATER to this dish (pour it directly on top of the pork chops once the layering is complete). This is probably the reason the recipe was dry. I should have put it in the original posting of the recipe. SORRY FOR ANY CONFUSION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Yum! My Mom used to make this recipe too. We put the pork chops in first, then spooned rice all around the open areas of a 9x13 pan, then laid sliced, rings of the onion around the whole pan before covering with 1 to 1 1/2 cans of consomme. We would cover the pan and cook until rice was tender and moist (approx. 1hr.) GREAT recipe for last minute casserole w/ staples usually found on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This is a wonderful pork chop recipe, full of flavor and very tender. I used a wild rice with seasoning packet for a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This recipe was great! Even my picky 12-year-old said it was really good! Here's what I changed in the recipe: I used season salt instead of plain salt; increased the rice to 1 1/2 cups; used 3 cups of chicken broth (that's what I had on hand) and 2 chicken bouillon cubes AND 1/2-3/4 cup water (some reviewers said theirs came out dry). I also seasoned the rice and water mixture with season salt and pepper. I covered it with tin foil and baked for 1 hour, it came out perfect and moist. With these small changes, my family loved it! Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bells67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I just love when I find a recipe that I always have all the ingredients for, it takes a second to put together, and it turns out this good!! I used one can of beef consomme, one can of water, and one can of condensed french onion soup (omitted the onion) and the liquid to rice ratio was perfect. Covered with foil and it only needed about 1 hour to cook. The chops were very tender and not dry at all! Thanks for sharing this easy dinner, I'll be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
covering is probably essential as my rice dried out too....and i didn't catch it until it was too late--i tried to salvage by adding more water...i think this would have been best with french onion soup AND consomme because as is--it was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Wow, This was very good especially considering the effort I put into it. Next time I will double the rice...we all loved the crunchy edge. I had no Consomme so used beef broth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Great! But here is my mods, i cooked the rice in the consomme for about 10 min, then, instead of onion, i used a can of french onion soup...baked for ab hour and wow, my mom used to make this as a kid, it was my fav!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Delish! Don't forget to add the extra can of broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States