Consomme Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I followed this recipe to the letter, but I found it to be very dry. I did add more consomme and it still was very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
You might need to add an extra can of consomme'AND CUT OUT OR ONLY USE 1/4 C. OF WATER to this dish (pour it directly on top of the pork chops once the layering is complete). This is probably the reason the recipe was dry. I should have put it in the original posting of the recipe. SORRY FOR ANY CONFUSION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Yum! My Mom used to make this recipe too. We put the pork chops in first, then spooned rice all around the open areas of a 9x13 pan, then laid sliced, rings of the onion around the whole pan before covering with 1 to 1 1/2 cans of consomme. We would cover the pan and cook until rice was tender and moist (approx. 1hr.) GREAT recipe for last minute casserole w/ staples usually found on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This is a wonderful pork chop recipe, full of flavor and very tender. I used a wild rice with seasoning packet for a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
We really liked this recipe. Tasty, filling and fast. I didn't have any consomme so I used a can of french onion soup (in addition to the sliced onion) and it was very good, but we are onion lovers. Will definitely make again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
The pork came out tender but my rice did not have enough liquid to cook entirely so some rice was a bit hard. I also added some ground sage which I like with pork. It reminded my husband of a dish his mom used to make so I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Delish! Don't forget to add the extra can of broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Wow, This was very good especially considering the effort I put into it. Next time I will double the rice...we all loved the crunchy edge. I had no Consomme so used beef broth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
covering is probably essential as my rice dried out too....and i didn't catch it until it was too late--i tried to salvage by adding more water...i think this would have been best with french onion soup AND consomme because as is--it was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This recipe is delicious. I would recommend 2 cans of beef consomme instead of using water. I also covered the pan before I put it in the oven so the pork was very moist and the rice was done. Next time I make this i'm going to add garlic to give it some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States