Consomme Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I used to make this recipe back in the 1970's all the time, and have been looking for it for years now...I'm so happy to have found it here! I am preparing it tonight! So yummy...and such good memories attached to it for me!! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I liked the recipe. I decided to use Rice A Roni and put the seasoning in with it. That was a BIG mistake don't do that. It turned out really salty. Other than that. It was great. I used 2 cans of the consumme and 1/2 can of water. It worked out well. I liked it, the kids liked it but the hubby didn't care for the rice. Will make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Great recipe! Although very tasty, really be aware of your cooking time & rice - or the rice will dry out. I cut the cooking time to 1 hour and things were just right. I'd suggest cooking covered for at least the first 45 minutes. Check and see how quickly the liquid has been absorbed you can make the call to recover longer or continue cooking uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I came across this recipe a few days ago, and decided to try it. I followed the recipe, but i added 1 can of french onion soup. This dish was quick and full of flavor. My sister and my daughter loved it with biscuits. Perfect dinner for a busy day of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Want to give it 5 stars for ease, and it is tasty but nothing to fall out of your chair over (sorry). I have made it 3 ways..recipe to a T and with both the consume and french onion soup and just the french onion soup..it is tasty all ways, and the husband liked it. Good NO FUSS recipe,and these are always good to have! Thanks for the recipe. It has saved me when I ran out of time, and couldn't figure out what to make for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
It turned out really good. Covered it and baked for an hour with thick chops. Added 4-5 cloves of chopped garlic. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This recipe is a close version of one my ex-husband taught me that his family made. We always used double the amount of liquid to the measurement of rice (i.e. 1 cup of rice/2 cups liquid) I would take a 2-cup measuring cup, add one full can of beef consumme, and add water until the liquid equaled 2 cups. I would season, lightly flour and brown the pork chops in the olive oil. In the baking dish, I'd put the rice in first, then add the liquid. I would layer the browned pork chops on top. It works best if the liquid JUST covers the pork chops. COVER WITH ALUMINUM FOIL. I would bake for 1-1/2 hours. I'd let it sit for 10 min. covered. This has always been a family favorite. I recently made it for a get together of friends, using the 6 pork chops, but doubling the rice and liquid (used 2 cans of consumme). Cooked for 2 hrs, 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I really liked this! The rice was a little mushy but I didn't use long grain rice either. I probably could have cooked it for an hour instead of hour and a half (I added extra liquid) and it would have been pretty close to perfect. I did use seasonings we like instead of salt and pepper... very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starla Wicks-Heath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Super easy and delicious recipe! Took one review's advice and put pork chops in first followed by rice, onions and then consomme/broth. Most recently I used a box of toasted almond rice pilaf by Near East and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I hate it when people change the recipe then rate it! But that's what I'm doing...I used the same basis, but did not fry. I just threw all in 9 X 13 in dish with a can of french onion soup and long grain brown rice (all I had) and started for one hour at 350, but nothing happened! So I upped the temp to 400 and was done in another 45 minutes. I must say because of all the reviews, and what it takes to make the rice...I used one can soup and added two cups of water. Came out perfect and the french onion soup added a great flavor and the house had a wonderful smell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States