Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This recipe is so easy. I cannot believe how much these "crab cakes" taste so much like the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I've made these like 4 times now. The first time I accidentally forgot to dip them in the flour and they turned out just fine! No need. I also don't drain my zucchini or do anything to get the water out & they turn out great. I grate the zucchini then immediately make the recipe, maybe that's why; they don't sit around getting watery. Also, I only use 1/4 c oil & I think I could even use less. I love these! So good. Think I might try the oven version next since it would be alot healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
To make them taste more like "crab" cakes, I added a packet of bonito flakes. I served them over fresh tomatoes and squeezed some Japanese Mayo over them as a garnish. I also shredded a half of carrot in the mix to give it a pretty color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Although I made changes I think this was excellent. I've made mock crab cakes before and they are really wet. I did shed, salt and drain mine. I called them more of a "summer pancake" I didn't have oldbay which gives it the "crab" taste but I had fresh basil, and cilantro and I chopped those up and put them in there. I fried some and baked some at 400 for 12min, flip and 12min more. Little mayo, and a tomatoe on top! Yum. I make these like once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
These zucchini cakes are amazing! I forgot to put flour but they still turned out great. I made a few changes: lightly salted and squeezed all moisture out of shredded zucchini; added 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs and 1/2 cup panko; instead of Old Bay seasoning (did not have it on hand) added 1 tbsp dried oregano, 1 tbsp dried basil, some pepper and garlic powder. They tasted great. Even my kids, who loath vegetables, gobbled these up. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I've made this recipe twice. The first time, I used an extremely large zucchini, scraped out all the seeds, added dehydrated onions to soak up some of the moisture, added a little garlic salt as well as all the other ingredients (except butter), and it was awesome. Not soggy at all. I didn't measure any of the ingredients; I just added everything together until it looked right. I also added butter to the vegetable oil for frying. I must've done okay because it was really good. The second time I made it, I did everything exactly the same as the first time except I added a half a bottle of clam juice to make a "poor woman's crabcake." Although these came out a little soggy (not too bad, though), they really tasted like crabcakes. Put one on a bun with a little cocktail sauce and you'd think you were in Maryland. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These were okay, but they didn't fool us into thinking we were eating crab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I was blown away by this recipe. I ended up using a bit more of the Old Bay Seasoning, and it was perfect! The mix was extremely wet and difficult to handle, but once it was in the pan it firmed up immediately. This is a great way to use up all that extra zucchini, especially if you are looking for a fried treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Easy! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Followed recipes as best as possible. I drained zucchini and used a combination of fresh spices on hand. My husband loved it and said it would be good for breakfast, as well. And, he doesn't like zucchini. Thanks for a great new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mendocino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,047) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States