Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
my family is from maryland but living in the midwest, it's impossible to find affordable lump crab meat. i added chopped jalapeños and an extra half cup of breadcrumbs, and while isn't not crab meat, it's a fantastic substitution!! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzeGibson
Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I did what others suggested and drained the zucchini but it was still way too wet. I was unable to dredge thru the flour. I formed them and put them in hot oil. They didnt taste like crabcakes either, and I did add more Old Bay than the recipe called for. I thought they tasted ok, but just not crabcake. I am going to give this another try. Will wring out zucchini in a dishtowel next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I followed it exactly except I tried to get the water out of the zucchini...still too mushy...might not put the egg in next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was really wet and could have done with being salted and drained. I couldn't dredge it in flour because it was so wet, so I just dropped the batter into the pan- with spray olive oil. They were ok. They didn't taste like crab but my daughter loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
These were great! I added some green onions as well as minced and used Italian bread crumbs. Cooked them till they were crisp. They were great with ranch dressings and some brown rice. A great meatless night dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This is my #1 favorite recipe for zucchini. I have been using this recipe for several years now. I have even frozen some patties to use over the winter, and they are still delicious! My family has also complimented them, and have come back to my house asking for more. I'll be using my zucchini for this recipe a lot this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Fantastic!! I, as suggested, drained my zucchini and added a few more spices (dill, cardamom, black pepper, garlic, and dry mustard). I fried mine in oil. They turned out perfect. I was surprised at well they held together and the taste was really wonderful. I just wish I had made more. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
These were awesome! I was intrigued when I found this recipe because 1) I want to cook at least one meatless dish a week and 2) I became allergic to all shellfish at the age of 26. I made some minor revisions; I omitted the butter, added some onion and garlic powder, a touch of cayenne and mixed in some panko breadcrumbs. I also squeezed as much liquid out of the zucchini as possible. These tasted so much like real crab cakes I couldn't believe it! My husband loved them as well. Will definitely add this recipe to my list of dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Oh My God! This is the first time I ever tried zucchini. They are so good. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Windsor, New York, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,018) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States