Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
a lot of work but tastie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I find this recipe hard to rate. I followed it to a tee, then with the next batch I incorporated several other reviewers' suggestions. Bottom line, if you are a crab aficionado, I have to agree with “Marcie” from Baltimore, Maryland, who said these taste like filler. I was really glad I served the cakes on Portobello mushrooms (thank you to another reviewer)or this would have been a total loss. There wasn't even a suggestion of the taste of crab. However, it made for excellent stuffed portobello mushrooms for our company last night and that's why 4 stars instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This recipe is great! I used Panko bread crumbs rather than regular, and I fried in coconut oil. Only thing I would change would be a little be more Old Bay Seasoning, and a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This sounded interesting when I searched for a zucchini recipe. I used extra Old Bay Seasoning, also, and decided to include an 8 oz. package of imitation crab. My husband and I both liked it. I would do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
So simple and easy!!! My family really liked these "crab" cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This wasn't the taste or texture I was hoping for. Too bland with the recommended amount of spices, but tastes like nothing but Old Bay if you increase that. Just not my cup of tea I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Better than any other zucchini cake recipe that I've tried before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri
Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
AMAZING!!! I added celery, poblano pepper, and garlic to the onions while sauteeing. I did squeeze the excess water from the shredded zucchini as others have suggested- there was a lot of it, so I highly recommend doing so. I added some parmesan cheese to the final mixture and added more Old Bay than called for, also as others have suggested. I put the final mixture in the refrigerator for about an hour which helped it firm up a little more before I used it. I did not form the mixture into patties, but rather stuffed it into large portabello mushroom caps and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes and finished with a quick broil to brown the top. This was unbelievably yummy... I mean REALLY really good. This is something I'm going to make time and time again and will be sharing the recipe with others. Thank you Connie! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Wonderful! I added a can of tuna and MDH went nuts over these. I didn't have any bread crumbs on hand so I smashed a bag of stove top stuffing!(chicken flavor) Worked great. Will definitely make again. However, I had a very difficult time keeping them from falling apart. Any suggestions? ? kblender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Ate with a garlic aioli sauce. Next time I should use a little less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,033) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States