Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These were OK; certainly a new way to use up all those zucchini. I made it exactly as written except used another reviewer's advice and baked them, also salted and drained them ahead of time. What I didn't like was that they were too salty and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
My mother use to make these back in the 50's. we called the zucchini patties. No Bay seasoning, we use to sprinkle the parm cheese and squeeze lemond juice on top. I still making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Just finished baking a batch of these and I must say, they are very good. There is no confusing these with actual crab cakes but with that said I think they hold their own quite nicely. Grated the zucchini w/Kitchenaid FP then squeezed out the add'l mositure. After mixing all ingredients, I used panko crumbs mixed w/flour and 'breaded' each patty, misted both sides w/canola oil then baked at 450 15 mins, flipped & baked another 15. Served with fresh cob corn and remoulade sauce. Great way to use up those oversized Zucchinis. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Never one to leave anything alone...I added 1 shredded carrot for color, I drained the zucchini to get rid of the excess mositure, I used Mrs. Dash instead of old bay, and I let the mixture firm up in the frig for easier pattie making. This is such a great idea for vegetarians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Great tasting recipe. My family loved it. I did add chopped bell pepper and that really gave it a 'wow' factor. Instead of bread crumbs, I used potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
The ingredient list has 1 cup bread crumbs. The directions say "stir in seasoned bread crumbs".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Baked them as suggested at 400 for 15 mins a side and served with a lemon garlic aioli .....wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Awesome! I only had plain breadcrumbs so I just added some Italian seasoning to the mix and added some garlic powder. I did squeeze out the moisture from the zucchini in paper towels. I'll definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was Pretty good. I didn't have any of the seasoning so I just used salt, pepper and parsley and they came out really well. I forgot to squeeze out the excess fluid from the zucchini but they were quite nice anyway; gooey centers with crispy exterior. They were wolfed down by my hungy mob in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
These were GREAT! I did add some Frank's Hot Sauce when I mixed them up and even added more when I ate them. Next time I make them I will increase the bread crumbs and Old Bay. I will definitly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,033) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States