Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Following the recommendation of lots of other reviewers I squeezed much of the water out of the zucchini...but I found the crab cakes to be dry?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious! This was our weekly "Meatless Monday" dinner and it turned out very well. As a tweaker, I did some things differently, as I wanted my zucchini cakes to turn out more like Ruby Tuesday's mini zucchini sliders. I added roughly 1/4 c of diced (jarred) roasted sweet red peppers as well as a handful of feta cheese, breaking up some of the bigger chunks. I was in a hurry and could've done a better job squeezing out my zucchini, as the "batter" was a tad too wet to actually form into patties when I started the first one. Improvising, I added more breadcrumbs, and I also threw in some Panko as well. Perfect! I loved the addition of the Old Bay...they actually tasted like crab cakes to this Midwestern girl! I added my usual garlic/onion powders to taste, some black pepper, and subbed mayo for the melted butter. I fried them in garlic-infused olive oil (used just enough to coat bottom of my skillet.) Served with sweet potato fries and sliced avacado, my husband, and even my 4 year-old daughter, cleaned their plates. Thanks to the extra zucchini from my MIL, I'll be making these little beauties again this week. Next time, I'd like to do the slider version on some sweet rolls with butter lettuce and tomato. *Drool*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
NOT a fan... I made them in the oven as others recommended. I also wrung the zucchini out to get the moisture out. Would NOT make again or recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I just made something very similar except I had a small can of crab meat that I put in with the zucchini. I did not have any bread crumbs so mixed in some flour and a little bit of baking powder. They fried up nice and fluffy. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayette, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This was just ok. I really didn't taste much of the Old Bay in this. I guess some cooks like this recipe but it sure doesn't taste like real crab cakes or even "just like". It's more of a zucchini fritter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is very tasty,i had a hard time flipping them,so i put them in the oven for about 10 min.at 375,then fried turned out very good.I did not add Old Bay seasoning,as i could not find any.Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Made this last night. Added 1/2 white potato and a 1/2 of carrot shredded along with the mixture. Had drained it in a collander for at least one hour and then put in the fridge. Continued to pull the liquid out before making the patties. Used some other's advice about baking them. Put them on parchment in a preheated 400 degree oven for 13 minutes on each side. When I went to turn them I sprayed them with olive oil in my "misto". Should have sprayed them on the first side. They were delicious. 4 small zucchini yielded 11 cakes about 2" in diameter. Added one egg, one cup of my homemade whole wheat breadcrumbs and about 1/4 cup of panko, salt, pepper, garlic powder, dash of ground mustard. Great dinner. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I just made these tonight and they were great. I didn't go into this expecting them to taste like crab, so I wasn't disappointed...instead I found this to not only be easy, but such a big payoff in flavor, economy and the "impress your friends" factor. I did not drain my zucchini so I had to wash my hands after forming the third one. The first two were not as flat so I cooked them for 1 minute to get the inside cooked...when I cut them with my fork delicious steam poured out, yum! A great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This recipe is great! I didn't have Old Bay, so I used 1t each of garlic powder and onion powder and salt and pepper to taste. Can't wait to serve them tomorrow at a family get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Wow! Very easy to make. I would add some onion salt next time and a bit more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Buggy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,040) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States