Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
only 4 stars, because i followed other reviewers and tweaked it a bit. i would have given 5 stars if these changes were in the original...... I increased the Old Bay to 2 teaspoons. I lightly salted and drained the zucchini as per other reviewers. I accidentally dumped in the flour along with the breadcrumbs, but this turned out just fine for my family and i had no problem making them into patties so will do that again. To make this a vegan meal, substitute 3 TB water + 1 TB ground flax for the egg and omit butter. When you mix those two together and let sit for 5 min before adding to the crumb mixture the flax serves as a binder just as well as the egg would have. Lastly, I oiled a baking sheet and baked them for 15 min at 400, flipped them and baked again for 15 min. THESE WERE GREAT AS A MEAL!! i served them with tzakziki sauce (warning, tzakziki is not vegan) made from this site, corn on the cob, and a smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
vegateran crab cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I followed MANDT2 suggestion of oiling a baking sheet and baking them at 400 for 15 minutes on each side and they came out super yummy. Hubby and I ate them with diced tomatoes on top. My picky son liked them too an added bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
These really taste like they are made with real crab meat! The only problem is you cannot keep them as leftovers, the next day they tend to be soggy. Next time I make them I'll make sure to eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Manitta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I had a problem with the cakes falling apart. But, they tasted pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Amazing! Simple, easy, and tons of flavor. I serve with a lemon and chive aioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aschamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
FABULOUS! My husband, a huge ("real") crab-cake fan, even loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Follow the recipe, squeeze all the juice out of the squash first and have your oil hot enough before frying. I don't care where you're from or how much of a "crabcake guru" you think you are, these are absolutely delicious. If you eat crab and don't like this recipe, go make a real crabcake. Geesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Tried these last night and they are wonderful. A great use of zucchini and the flavor really is much like a crab cake. Better than the bread crumb laden crab cakes I have had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I thought these were delicious! So easy...perfect with a squeeze of lemon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,059) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States