Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Although I made changes I think this was excellent. I've made mock crab cakes before and they are really wet. I did shed, salt and drain mine. I called them more of a "summer pancake" I didn't have oldbay which gives it the "crab" taste but I had fresh basil, and cilantro and I chopped those up and put them in there. I fried some and baked some at 400 for 12min, flip and 12min more. Little mayo, and a tomatoe on top! Yum. I make these like once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
These zucchini cakes are amazing! I forgot to put flour but they still turned out great. I made a few changes: lightly salted and squeezed all moisture out of shredded zucchini; added 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs and 1/2 cup panko; instead of Old Bay seasoning (did not have it on hand) added 1 tbsp dried oregano, 1 tbsp dried basil, some pepper and garlic powder. They tasted great. Even my kids, who loath vegetables, gobbled these up. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I've made this recipe twice. The first time, I used an extremely large zucchini, scraped out all the seeds, added dehydrated onions to soak up some of the moisture, added a little garlic salt as well as all the other ingredients (except butter), and it was awesome. Not soggy at all. I didn't measure any of the ingredients; I just added everything together until it looked right. I also added butter to the vegetable oil for frying. I must've done okay because it was really good. The second time I made it, I did everything exactly the same as the first time except I added a half a bottle of clam juice to make a "poor woman's crabcake." Although these came out a little soggy (not too bad, though), they really tasted like crabcakes. Put one on a bun with a little cocktail sauce and you'd think you were in Maryland. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These were okay, but they didn't fool us into thinking we were eating crab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I was blown away by this recipe. I ended up using a bit more of the Old Bay Seasoning, and it was perfect! The mix was extremely wet and difficult to handle, but once it was in the pan it firmed up immediately. This is a great way to use up all that extra zucchini, especially if you are looking for a fried treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Easy! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Followed recipes as best as possible. I drained zucchini and used a combination of fresh spices on hand. My husband loved it and said it would be good for breakfast, as well. And, he doesn't like zucchini. Thanks for a great new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mendocino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
These cakes were very good.As a filler I added Porridge Oats with Oat Bran,Wheat Bran and Flax Seed this I ground very fine.I baked them. For seasoning I added a teaspoon of Taco Seasoning. They come out crisp on the out side and soft in the inside - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rocanville, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Very good. I added a can of crab meat, dredged in panko and baked instead of fried. I used another reviewers advice and made a dip with Mayo, Lemon juice and a lot of sriracha sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Great dish. I think I would not be fooled into thinking that these tasty patties are crab cakes. They don't need to be exactly like crab cakes. They are wonderful as they are. I used cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs (because I have a meat grinder and can smush up a whole box of saltines in no time), and I used Cavender's Greek Seasoning instead of Old Bay (it's a local product, google it). I think I can probably make them without the recipe, now. First, don't worry if the batter is a little gushy. It should be barely workable. My suggestion is to make a ball and roll it in the flour on a plate. Put it in the skillet and don't worry about shaping it into a patty. after you turn it you can flatten it out with the spatula. When they are done they should be crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, like a crab cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,054) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States