Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
My husband calls this dish "crabless" cakes and he loves it! I follow the recipe as written except I no longer add the butter. It's just as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
Very good! I did add cheese which we love. Also, I mixed the ingredients and decided I would bake rather than fry. I patted the whole mixture into a square, cut it into smaller squares, and put them on an oiled baking sheet. I sprayed oil on the top, and baked at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes, flipped the pieces, and baked for another 8-10 minutes until well browned. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
I added cheese and substituted a few individual spices for the old bay seasoning. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Bascom
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I made these for the first time--following the recipe exactly--and we were very disappointed. They did not taste like crab. The middle was slushy. Cooking them any longer would have resulted in burning them. I would not advise anyone trying them without first referring to the posts with advice; and I strongly suggest that the recipe be augmented with everyone's tips and tricks, such as draining the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
These are great. Grated them into a colander and added a little salt, waited, pressed the water out. Then followed the rest of the recipe. Baked them in the oven at 400 for 40 minutes with some spray oil. Coated one in spicy panko crumbs and that was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
The 3 rating is for the original recipe, which does not direct you to drain the shredded zucchini first. If you follow this recipe as I did, it will be very difficult not to have a soggy mess for your "cakes." So take the advice of the reviewers and drain the shredded zucchini first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Good taste, but you really do need to squeeze the water out of the zucchini. I let it drain in a colander for a couple of hours and it was still too wet. I used a heaping teaspoon of Old Bay and coated the cakes in breadcrumbs, and also froze them before coating as someone suggested. They did taste like commercial crabcakes, but nothing beats the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Loved these! I made a lot of changes (dietary issues)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Love these zucchini cakes! We're vegetarians and love zucchini squash. This recipe was given to us by some non-vegetarian friends. We followed the recipe exactly, but we didn't have Old Bay seasoning. We found a substitute recipe on this website. We dredged in flour and fried in canola oil. They turned out fantastic! My husband made a dipping sauce of sour cream, dill weed, black pepper, season salt, and lemon juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Serving with tomatoes is a must! 1/2 teaspoon of Old Bay was plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,067) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States