Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Tried this twice now and loved both times. We can't get the crab seasoning up here so the first time I just used some Lawry's and it was nice. Then today I decided on an eastern version and made the cakes with chili, cumin and garam masala plus some salt. Made naan bread and raita and it was great! Used the oven fry method and squeezed liquid out of the zucchini both times too. This will be a staple here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hildigunnur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I was craving a tasty vegetarian dish and tried this recipe using eggplant instead of zucchini based on what I had available in my fridge. It turned out very well, I added a little more bread crumbs and toned up the seasoning with allspice, curry, garlic powders and fresh lemon thyme plus salt and pepper to serve. Yummy. I'll do it again with the zucchini next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
this recipe looks great,was wondering if they can be frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allen Howe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amj1485
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I also baked these as another reviewer had suggested at 350 for about 14 minutes on each side, and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
AWESOME!!!!! Squeezed the heck out of it to remove as much liquid as I could. Forget the butter (unnecessary calories!) Baked in the 400* OVEN 12 minutes each side....sprayed pan & tops with Olive oil! WOWZA! Served with Garlic Aioli. (From this site!) YUMMMY! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Actually tastes like crab cakes! I'm impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie Tao-Hinebaugh
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Not bad! Even hubby ate it without too much complaint and he's a meat and potato guy. :) I cut back on butter to 1 tap and added chopped red pepper and purple onions to beef it up. was able to make 6 patties, each 1/3 cup in size. 2 wwpp each if anyone care to know. :) next time, I'll add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Very good as is. I modified to taste the second time around by adding Parmesan and garlic powder and a little more Old Bay. I drained the zucchini, but the mixture was still a little too goopey, so instead of adding more bread crumbs I added potato flakes until the consistency was right. Served with a sour cream sauce (Sour cream, lemon, dill, salt, pepper) Of course I think it's 5 stars my way, but the base recipe is very tasty and does remind me of crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Very good. I wouldn't say "to die for," but definitely good, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Very Good and Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,055) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States