Connie's Southern Style Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I have not tried this recipe yet, but it is one of the first ones I have ever seen that does not use eggs and self-rising flour in the dumplings. This is the way I remember my grandmother making dumplings and I have tried for years to find a recipe like this. I have made dumplings in the past and tried to duplicate her recipe, but always came away feeling as though it was missing something. I will definitely try this one soon, as my husband LOVES chicken and dumplings! Thanks for a (hopefully) great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Using canned biscuits for dumplings is a disgrace. Quit being so lazy. Excellent dumplings in this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
When I made the broth I added thyme, oregano,pepper, bay leaf, carrots, celery, and onion. And when I strained the broth out I added the carrots and celery back into it when I added the chicken back. Every one at home loved it. Even dad who grew up on his moms chicken and dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I really enjoyed the finished product. I added some celery to the stock process and left it in for texture, as well as adding some Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning at the end...Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This is JUST like my grandmother used to make it!!! I like to add green onion, celery, and sliced fresh mushrooms! Awesome!! It's August in Texas and it's what my son wanted for dinner ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This was awesome. My go-to chicken noodle soup recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
dumplings didnt work out at all. i made it a second time because the soup part was very good- i just peiced up biscuit dough like other reviewers and it turned out great. i also thickened it up a little by removing about 2-3 cups or broth and whisking in flour until it was almost like a dough- it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chukluvr
Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I was really surprised by this recipe. I usually add tons more stuff to chicken and dumplings and made this as a faceless recipe for the AllRecipes Allstar faceless recipe challenge. I really loved it. I made it as written and I also made carrots, potatoes, onions, celery, thyme on the side cooked in the same broth. I really liked the original recipe the best (and we love veggies). This will be my go to chicken and dumpling recipe. I must say also that I have never fixed flat dumplings, only the round ones. I had to get help from the Recipe Buzz but they showed me how to make the dumplings. (they should be rolled out to about 1/8th of an inch.) Thanks so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
We love this recipe! I roasted a whole cut up chicken for a bit first to brown it and get that roasted flavor, then cooked it in the crockpot with some dehydrated onion, pepper, and water. The rest of the recipe I followed the same. We are dumpling lovers so I needed to double the dumpling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I thought it was pretty good but kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States