Connie's Southern Style Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Really tasty. Boiled boneless skinless chicken breasts for an hour then shredded. Also added a few tablespoons of chicken bullion for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Really enjoyed it......it was a fast and easy dinner especially since I threw the chicken in the crockpot in the morning. I had never made Chicken and Dumplings before and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Very good- but make extra dumplings for the dumpling lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAPAW JOE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
My first attempt at Chicken and Dumplings and huge success! I threw some leftover roasted squash, onions,and sweet potatoes in with the chicken to deepen the broth without adding more butter. Used 3 split chicken breasts in place of a whole chicken. The dumplings are great but I will double them next time. Even better after sitting overnight and letting the broth flavors continue to mingle. A definite repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I just use canned biscuits for the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I tried recipe this weekend. On saturday i cooked the chicken. On sunday I did the rest. It turned out great. I will probably add some seasoning next time. I thought it was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
VERY VERY GOOD.. Cant wait to have again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I was really surprised by this recipe. I usually add tons more stuff to chicken and dumplings and made this as a faceless recipe for the AllRecipes Allstar faceless recipe challenge. I really loved it. I made it as written and I also made carrots, potatoes, onions, celery, thyme on the side cooked in the same broth. I really liked the original recipe the best (and we love veggies). This will be my go to chicken and dumpling recipe. I must say also that I have never fixed flat dumplings, only the round ones. I had to get help from the Recipe Buzz but they showed me how to make the dumplings. (they should be rolled out to about 1/8th of an inch.) Thanks so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
We love this recipe! I roasted a whole cut up chicken for a bit first to brown it and get that roasted flavor, then cooked it in the crockpot with some dehydrated onion, pepper, and water. The rest of the recipe I followed the same. We are dumpling lovers so I needed to double the dumpling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I thought it was pretty good but kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States