Conh Chowdah (Corn Chowder) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Too creamy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Risking being one of "those people" who rates a recipe that she has modified, this soup did turn out well.... with necessary additions to make it worth eating! I agree with all the reviewers that say this recipe is *blah* as-is, with too much cream. I cut that back by half and replaced with a combo of chicken broth and milk. I also added diced red potatoes, a freshly minced green chili, & green onions instead of 'standard.' That's all it needed to be turned into a complex, inviting, filling meal. Best part: my kids REALLY liked it, and my husband said it tasted like "liquid butter."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Some of you are gonna have issue with this but... This was good but with some of the modifications I borrowed from several of the reviewers. I used the frozen corn simply for ease but also appreciate the added nutritional benefit. I also opted for half and half instead of the heavy cream. Anyone do a comparison of calories there?! I used less than a 1/2 of the recommended amount. Cut the amount of onion in half, enhanced with dried Hatch chile and a little garlic. Also added about 2 cups of shredded breakfast potatoes. My husband ate this, my son loved it (multiple comments of "that was good") and I also appreciated my first attempt at Conh Chowdah. :) Hope you don't mind my modifications Michelle. Your soup was a great base recipe. And thank you to the other reviewers for their suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I made this last night and I have to say it wasn't very good. It was very bland and needed lots of salt to give it any flavor. I probably won't b making this recipe again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethlehem, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I added red bell pepper, celery, diced potatoes and mushrooms to the saute. I used frozen corn that I had on hand rather than fresh. I added 4 small chicken bullion cubes and a small amount of water to the vegetables to allow them to soften and cook. Next I coarsely blended about a cup of the sauteed vegetables with some heavy cream and returned the mixture to the pot. Finally, I added about a cup of heavy cream and a cup of 1%milk to make a hearty chowder. I adjusted the salt and pepper to taste and served with fresh dill on top. With all those adjustments, it turned into a fantastic soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was a great start. I used 2 16oz bags of frozen corn and added 16 oz of Velvetta skim cheese. Also went heavy on the black pepper, and added cayenne pepper and some paprika. It was delicious. Very rich and heavy soup. A little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leelee
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Great soup.. very heavy and rich yummy! However I made some adjustments. I added 2 knorr vegetable boullion cubes, 2 leeks finely chopped, 3 sprigs of rosemary and a pinch of cayenne pepper. One quart of heavy cream and one quart of half and half. I added the leeks along with the onions. Then added the boullion cubes with the heavy cream and half and half, simmer until boullion cubes breakdown. Add the rosemary and cayenne pepper towards the end or early if you want a more intense flavor~ Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
with additions. Used half the heavy cream and substituted chicken broth. Also added about 3 potatoes, and 2 cloves minced garlic. An AMAZING use of fresh corn especially when it is plentiful in the summertime. Also finished with some Texas Pete. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Elmo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Great foundation....I dont really use measurements, I read many recipes and then go from there. This recipe served that purpose I cut the heavy cream(Used half a quart) Added about a cup of chicken stock, used half and half and creamed corn to thicken. Add potatos and use bacon to garnish with LOTS of pepper! My picky eaters LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Ok I am revising my review for this. The basic recipe here is good. But it is very, very basic. To me it tasted like bland cream with corn in it. It wasn't smooth or flavourful in anyway. Ok so let's fix it by adding some cubed potatoes, chicken stock and half the cream. Add some garlic and chopped parsley, a dollop of butter to make it smooth and thicken it ever so slightly with corn starch as well. Also substitute the 2 quarts of whipping cream with only 1 quart of it and 1 can of evaporated milk. The way this recipe is written is not tasty at all. It needs something more added. I will give it 2 stars for the basic recipe, but it definitely needs major tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTISCHOOR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States