Congo Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
I cooked this today with my 18 month old son and his 4 year old friend. Together we had it made in less than 10 minutes allowing for setup time. It would have been quicker again if I made it by myself without help but it was a great recipe to make with helpers. It is delicious and cooks up well. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
I doubled the amount of the chocolate chips and these were amazing. Everyone I gave them to absolutely loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This was a easy recipe that tastes great! I omitted the nuts and doubled the chocolate chips and it turned out very yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Scrumptious and easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Tastes great! Cooked longer tho' wanted them browner-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Wonderful recipe for a square of chocolate cakey goodness. Sweet and light, I will definitely make these again! I added no nuts,just 2 ounces of chocolate and I thought that worked perfectly, would be yummy with nuts too I'm sure1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Hmmm...I hate to be the one to bring down the perfect score but these tasted more like chocolate chip bread to me and my husband. Not sure what I was expecting. I followed the recipe exactly, except I substituted pecans for walnuts for personal preference. They were ok - not too sweet and very cakey - not sure what I would change. Probably won't make again but it was worth a try for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
this recipe is just like the on my mom use to make when I was a child. I add a little bit of my own ingredients to it like peanutbutter chips, and I have to double it so I add milk chocolate chips and peanutbutter chips, or chocolate carmel chips and leave out the nuts I have allergies to nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
My grandmother used to make this same exact recipe and it's a family favorite and now 30something years later it is still a must have for my family that I make every holiday! The only difference i see is that we use a 350º oven and you have to carefully watch the time and sometimes take out 5 minutes early depending on your oven. They can be very gooey or very cakey.. my family likes them gooeier... also we just tried making them with the splenda brown sugar blend and they came out just as good but with no sugar for the diabetics in our family. Wonderful cookie bar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
It is a great recipe. It is a family favorite from my husband's childhood. It is not as sweet as most cookie recipes but ya just can't eat one! And it is easy and dependable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States