Congo Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I have been making congo squares for many years. My mom and chef sister still can't make them like I do. The secret is to beat each of the three eggs one at a time for three minutes each. The texture of the final product is much better and bakes lighter. Bake at 350 degrees for 28 minutes only, even if they don't look done. Also, I use Crisco instead of butter and one 1 pound box of LIGHT BROWN sugar. When they are at room temp, they are very gooey inside. Good luck! I think if you use my tips, you too will be a congo square Queen like me! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
My grandmother used to make this same exact recipe and it's a family favorite and now 30something years later it is still a must have for my family that I make every holiday! The only difference i see is that we use a 350º oven and you have to carefully watch the time and sometimes take out 5 minutes early depending on your oven. They can be very gooey or very cakey.. my family likes them gooeier... also we just tried making them with the splenda brown sugar blend and they came out just as good but with no sugar for the diabetics in our family. Wonderful cookie bar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My mother made these when i was a kid. (Cookies are time consuming ;) Like cookies, don't overbake: better a bit underdone so they're nice and chewy when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Hmmm...I hate to be the one to bring down the perfect score but these tasted more like chocolate chip bread to me and my husband. Not sure what I was expecting. I followed the recipe exactly, except I substituted pecans for walnuts for personal preference. They were ok - not too sweet and very cakey - not sure what I would change. Probably won't make again but it was worth a try for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
I doubled the amount of the chocolate chips and these were amazing. Everyone I gave them to absolutely loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I haven't made these in a few years but I am so glad I found the recipe again. Moist and chewy. So good, I have been making them at least once a week, and they never last long. Also, taste great with both white chocolate or butterscotch chips mixed in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma-diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This was a easy recipe that tastes great! I omitted the nuts and doubled the chocolate chips and it turned out very yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
I cooked this today with my 18 month old son and his 4 year old friend. Together we had it made in less than 10 minutes allowing for setup time. It would have been quicker again if I made it by myself without help but it was a great recipe to make with helpers. It is delicious and cooks up well. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking for 3
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
the taste was good. the texture was a mix between a cookie and a cake and a brownie. I will def. do this one again. I didnt do anything different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking for 3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
These were pretty good. My husband enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States