Congo Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I made this recipe today. It is ok but could be a 5 star with vanilla and salt added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Ive made these several times and everytime I go to take a picture of this, my kids have devoured them. they really love these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gk111258

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowmansville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is a great basic recipe but had little flavor to the dough and the texture was eggy so I added a half a teaspoon baking powder and half a teaspoon baking soda and a teaspoon of vanilla and some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Smith Rosier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I appreciated the first review which said to add vanilla. I took it a few steps farther. I cut the flour by one cup then the sugar by 3/4 of a cup. I also added white sugar. So, that makes one and 1/2 cup brown sugar and one cup white sugar. I also added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp cinnamon as well as 1 tsp baking soda. I mixed the butter and sugars together until creamed. Then I added the eggs, vanilla, and cinnamon. Then I added the flour and baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I added some vanilla to the batter, which really made it smell and taste delcicous. And it was sooo easy! Fill the house with smells of fresh baked cookies in half the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
There was little flavor, except for the abundance of chocolate chips. The texture reminded me of play-doh. Definately needs some kind of leavening and flavoring extract. A little salt may help too. I have no plans to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This recipe is missing an ingredient or two. I found it flavorless, which leads me to believe it is missing vanilla extract, and the texture was odd, which I believe is probably due to lack of baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Very good, very easy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
Great recipe! I used butterscotch chips instead of the chocolate because that's what my family likes better. They loved these bars. They are very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States