Congo Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bethany
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
These r sooo delicious definitely a new addition to the dessert menu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I liked these a lot...too much even! I used half butter, half margarine and 1 full cup of coconut. I had to cookie longer; 25 at 350, then turned down for another 15-20 at 325 because it was browning too much on the bottom. Mmmm. Warm, they are irresistible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I use to eat these when growing up, but if I ate them now I'd be comatose and no good to the world for days. Oh, and three hundred pounds. I miss my metabolism! They are addicting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I think I had a problem with ingredients with this recipe. I used mascabedo sugar--Mexico's commonly used brown sugar--and it didn't work at all. Maybe I'll try again if I can find real American brown sugar. Usually the mascabedo makes a very good substitute. I ended up with a hardened mixture of shortening and sugar that no amount of beating could loosen up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I was so glad to find this recipe as it is the same one I was given in my Home Ec class when I was in high school many many years ago. I loved this recipe and was so excited to find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made these years ago when my daughter was in elementary school and could not find the recipe. I didn't add the nuts but I did add coconut which I toasted in the oven then ground into a crushed mix and blended it with the flour mixture. I also used milk chocolate chips. It cooked a little longer than the recipe called for but came out beautifully. I used 2 tsp of vanilla and dark brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smokingalleykat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Scrumptious! I sold them at a bake sale and the two plates of them were the first two things to be sold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Reminds me of ones my grandma used to make. I added 2/3 c coconut, subbed cashews for the walnuts and used 1 c white chocolate chips and 1 c chocolate chips and used butter instead of shortening. I love this because you can truly make it your own. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
it was very good.... the one thing i would change is the soze of chochlate(sorry didnt spell that right) because it is a mouth full of it.... not thats a bad thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States