Congo Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bethany
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
These r sooo delicious definitely a new addition to the dessert menu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I liked these a lot...too much even! I used half butter, half margarine and 1 full cup of coconut. I had to cookie longer; 25 at 350, then turned down for another 15-20 at 325 because it was browning too much on the bottom. Mmmm. Warm, they are irresistible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I use to eat these when growing up, but if I ate them now I'd be comatose and no good to the world for days. Oh, and three hundred pounds. I miss my metabolism! They are addicting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I think I had a problem with ingredients with this recipe. I used mascabedo sugar--Mexico's commonly used brown sugar--and it didn't work at all. Maybe I'll try again if I can find real American brown sugar. Usually the mascabedo makes a very good substitute. I ended up with a hardened mixture of shortening and sugar that no amount of beating could loosen up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I was so glad to find this recipe as it is the same one I was given in my Home Ec class when I was in high school many many years ago. I loved this recipe and was so excited to find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made these years ago when my daughter was in elementary school and could not find the recipe. I didn't add the nuts but I did add coconut which I toasted in the oven then ground into a crushed mix and blended it with the flour mixture. I also used milk chocolate chips. It cooked a little longer than the recipe called for but came out beautifully. I used 2 tsp of vanilla and dark brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smokingalleykat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Scrumptious! I sold them at a bake sale and the two plates of them were the first two things to be sold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Reminds me of ones my grandma used to make. I added 2/3 c coconut, subbed cashews for the walnuts and used 1 c white chocolate chips and 1 c chocolate chips and used butter instead of shortening. I love this because you can truly make it your own. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
it was very good.... the one thing i would change is the soze of chochlate(sorry didnt spell that right) because it is a mouth full of it.... not thats a bad thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States