Confetti Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
I served this to my neighbors, my husband, and my parents. They couldn't get enough!!! Everyone finished their piece so fast it didn't look like they had time to breathe! Super easy and fast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
Granted the recipe is very easy to prepare, however the cleanup is a total "B" !!! When and if you make this BE SURE to use a very deep bowl, a mixing bowl just doesn't cut it when the pineapple tidbits hit the beaters in the liquid ... I literally have sweetened condensed milk and lemon juice interspursed with Mandarin Orange and Pineapple all over the kitchen ... You know, it does look like confetti on my kitchen curtains and walls !!! After the initial shock of having it fling all over, I called my Mom to come over and hold a LARGE flour sack dish towel while I continued to use the mixer to beat, beat, beat, this time in the laundry tubs ... I do hope all the mess was worth it, the pies are in the fridge chilling and hopefully setting up as I type. All I needed was a: "Lucy, I'm Home", because this fiasco was just like something Lucy and Ethyl would get into ... I'm sure this deserves a 5 star rating, but with the mess I was faced with, lucky to get a 2! Remember DEEP BOWL ...and maybe crushed pineapple After my initial review I came back to "revise" the posting, the pies never did set up .. A total waste of ingriedents and Tide to wash the kitchen curtains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Very refreshing - and so easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
super yummy and easy to make. having read the review on the splattering, i went ahead and did what made sense- kept my settings on low and the beaters in the bowl. had absolutely no problems. thanks for a great alternative to apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I first tried this pie when a friend brought it to our barbecue. It was delicious and so light! When I made it, I didn't have the oranges or pineapple on hand, so I substituted 5 or 6 fresh strawberries and 2 very ripe bananas for the fruit. I also used fat free sweetened condensed milk and fat free Cool Whip. It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Very disappointed in this recipe. Followed directions but it was very soft in the center and I wasn't able to slice because of this. Taste was just O.K. Didn't have any problems with stuff flying out of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I too had problems with this being too soft, even though I chilled it for 8 hours. Was I supposed to freeze it instead of chilling it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This is a throw back for me because my grandmother used to make this pie every Christmas or Thanksgiving (which ever holiday we were with her that year). My brothers and I LOVED it and I was thinking about it this year and was glad to find this for our Christmas dessert. If making a big mess is a problem do what I did, fold the ingredients together with a rubber spatula. We are actually vegan so I veganized it and it is still just lovely and brings back those New England Christmas memories. Thanks for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bixer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
My mom makes a recipie similar to this that I love! I used 1/4 cup of lemon juice, no fruit at all, and just mixed ingredients by hand with a rubber spatula. I also added a few drops of yellow food coloring since there was no confetti in my pie. My recipie only is enough for one pie that chills in the freezer for a few hours. Love, love, love, have always just called it lemon pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This pie was lemony and refreshing. I baked the pie shell with some margarine so that it would keep better texture for a while. I beat in the fruit slowly as suggested. I used the fruit I had on hand 1 can of oranges and 14.5 oz pineapple. I only had one pie crust. I put the other half in a pie pan with no crust. It is still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States