Confetti Beef Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Delicious - we loved it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I use two ways to decrease the sodium. I use "fresh salsa" from the deli, sometimes called pico de gallo. It's not cooked or canned. Mix the salsa with an equal amount of light or fat free sour cream. Use as a dressing on your tacos or taco salad. If you plan to add pinto beans, cook your own (control the sodium) or you can buy canned "no added salt" pinto beans. I also buy a "MEXICAN SEASONING" or "FIESTA MEXICAN SEASONING". It is sodium free and cheaper than buying all the different spices to make your own seasoning. I buy it at a local food coop or Sprouts. I also have two companies I can order from which is where the coop & Sprouts get their supply. Try FRONTIERFOODS.COM or BULKFOODS.COM. The only difference between the two seasonings is Fiesta has tomato powder added to it. Excellent flavor and definitely saves money. If you want to use chicken for your tacos or taco salad it is best to cook in slow cooker. Use boneless skinless chicken thighs (or breast), pour bottled salsa over & cook on low for about 6 hours. Make sure the chicken is submerged so it doesn't dry out. Shred the chicken with a fork & return to slow cooker to warm it up. Chicken is much lower in fat & calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Typical taco salad, I think it's a geographical thing as to what the ingredients are. For us it needs pintos, Ortega chilis, Catalina dressing, had one w/ Fritos that was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Good flavor, but will lighten up on taco seasoning & tortilla chips on future salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
When I make this recipe I use nacho cheese flavored Doritos and mix in a cup or more of thousand island dressing. I usually mix it all together as stated but the chip do get soft and some people like more or less thousand island dressing, so sometimes I will put the chips and dressing on the side so everyone can mix there own serving so everything stays crisp and the lettuce doesn't get soggy from the dressing. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This recipe was great! I used doritos instead of tortilla chips and used less cheese. it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was a delicious, easy to make taco salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I've been making taco salad like this for years and it is very simple and quite delicious recipe. Instead of plain tortilla chips I like to use taco flavored Doritos, they just seem to add a bit more flavor. Ranch dressing adds a good zing and is a nice change from the French or Catalina dressings I'm used to on taco salad. Tip: use a paper towel blot out the grease from the cooked beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was delicious. I made it exactly as written, except I used salsa instead of a diced fresh tomato. We thoroughly pigged out and enjoyed ourselves, and I'd love to play around with it in the future a bit, such as by adding drained black beans. Thanks, Beef. It's What's for Dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
The taco salad was just what I was craving for dinner. I used an AR recipe from GVSWIFE to spice up the beef.....http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Restaurant-Style-Taco-Meat-Seasoning/Detail.aspx...My, oh My! Definitely going in my Yummy File!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States