Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Absolutely loved this recipe. I made a few corrections for my taste buds. Omitted the MSG.I added 1 Tblsp. of chili powder. Mmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is the best chili dog recipe I have found yet and I have tried alot. I accidently bought cheese hot dogs and they were great with this sauce on top. This made plenty of sauce and my family was more than happy to have leftovers.A+++ recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I didnt use the msg because my daughter cannot have msg. Followed recipe otherwise. I just thought it needed extra things in it... Taste was ok. Than i added a good amount of worcestire sauce and browning liquid. Lots more chilli powder also... ThAn it was better, but still tasted more like a sloppy joe than a coney sauce....?? Needs tweaking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Sorry, but I use to live in NY and coney sauce is really special. This recipe is not even close to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was very good, I think next time I would add just a little more tomato sauce,just to loosen it up a little. I didn't use the msg in it. My family liked it even my fussy eater liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Everyone really liked it. I did add a touch of sugar to mine to sweeten it some. Great topping for hot dogs and will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Great flavor! I used milk in place of the water after hearing on TV how milk helps break down the meat while cooking. It worked!! Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
A great recipe. I cooked the onion and garlic with the beef, added beef bouillion to the water and nixed the MSG. Also, I increased the amounts of both garlic and chili powder. I needed to add a bit of white sugar to balance the acidity, but it was probably due to the tomato sauce I used. Thanks much, though. It was just what I was looking for. (This sauce also makes for fabulous garbage fries - pour onto hot cooked french fries and add sour cream or ranch dressing, cheese, peppers, etc. Yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeni M.
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
When I first set eyes on this recipe, I was sceptical. It was too easy to be good. I gave it a try anyway and followed the others' suggestion to add pepper to it. Surprisingly enough it was delicious !!! I can hardly wait to share the recipe with my friends. Many of them gave it a try and it is now a big hit among us. So I'm giving it a rating what it deserves, 5 brights stars !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I have been eating hot dogs at Coney Island all my life, and have never seen or heard of such a sauce, in Coney Island or anywhere else within the five boroughs. I think it was so named because of Coney Island's (that is, Nathan's, reputation for hot dogs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States