Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I liked this sauce, but Coney Island hot dogs with "Coney sauce" aren't a New York thing, they are a Flint / Detroit Michigan thing. Way back when people in Michigan were importing their hot dogs from ny and started calling them "Coney Island dogs".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I made a few adjustments, first I made my own tomato sauce. The fresh, I just prefer. Then I killed the MSG. Then I added a splash of balsamic vinegar and a Hungarian pepper diced very finely for a little more kick. This is gong to be my "go to" coney sauce - if you wish to avoid the hot side of warm, I'd go w/ maybe a 1/3 of a green pepper instead of the Hungarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I loved this! I was looking for a recipe that tasted like my Grandma Wyatt's....this was CLOSE :) I did not use MSG & added Frank's Hot Sauce. VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
this was really easy and really good. I did add a beef broth cube and a bit more chili powder and some paprika to it, and then let it cook for almost two hours. only because in my head dinner was going to just take thirty minutes, but it ended up taking almost two hours. my dinner guest had requested chili dogs and he ate three of them so they must have been good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Really not flavorful enough. We had a superbowl party and no one had any comments....good or bad. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Really good. Both my husband and I loved it. The only change we made was omitting the MSG (didn't have any) and we added a full (small) onion instead of 1/4. Turned out great. Definitely a keeper for nights we can't think of anything or are on a tight budget. Everything in the recipe is stuff we normally have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This was a very good and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
When I read the recipe, it looked easy enough for a begginer cook to replicate. I made the original sauce, but once I tasted it, I felt it needed something else. So I added about 2 tbl of worcerterchire sauce. My husbend and family liked it. But I do wish the acididy was balanced. I did not add the MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was very tasty. Almost sloppy joe like, but maybe because I let it simmer on the stove for about 40 minutes or so instead of just 10 minutes. Only because I made the coney sauce first and hadn't put the french fries in the oven yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I originally gave this recipe only 3 stars, but had to come back and edit. After a slow simmer and spread over hot dogs this one is definitely a keeper! My kids swear they could eat this on a daily basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States