Condensed Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Using this recipe for several years now. I store the powder mix and add the liquid when I need it. Quick easy and delicious. Then I can use broth water or whatever liquid I want depending on what I am making. Often use liquid from sauted mushrooms as part of my broth, for example. Great for green bean casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I tried this, and it was just okay with me. I'm not sure what herb it is that ruined it for me, probably the basil, but when I used this to make my favorite hash brown casserole, the flavor was way off and the casserole virtually ruined. This mix may be okay with some casseroles but is not really a substitute for the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
love love love this recipe! so nice to have an alternative to canned soups. i have given this to all my family members. now i'm using it in my soup kitchen in the casseroles that i make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vi Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Excellent flavor. I used 5 cups chicken broth and canned this. I divided the chicken broth and kept back 1 cup cold broth to mix in the cornstarch and then added it to the heated mixture. I also added minced dried wild mushrooms. I have also used this recipe as it was intended as dry condensed soup and mixed with liquid as you need it. Again, very tasty and convenient. Much better flavor than store bought canned condensed soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This gluten-free recipe works for me! I am so very glad to have a substitute for the condensed cans of soup that is still almost as easy as opening a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I have been using this recipe for at least 15 years from a heart healthy cookbook. I've found it is best to heat the water in the microwave to not quite boiling, stir in the mix and then cook on a lower power level til thickens. This is MUCH lower in fat and salt then canned cream soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was exactly what I needed. Next time, I'd like to play with the spices a little. But, it's a great substitute for canned condensed soup. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This is great to have on hand and so much better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Loved this!! Now I can make my own up when needed and don't have to worry about so much salt and msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Great recipe! Makes me feel better knowing what i'm serving my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix

With this dry bean mix made in advance, soup’s ready when you are.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States