Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
While this "frosting" had a nice taste, not being too sweet like other sugar based frostings, I would not classify this as a "frosting" at all. This is more like a sauce (and not even a glaze). My cake tastes good, but it's now soaked. I would consider making some significant adjustments to the quanitities of ingredients used if you're hoping for something thicker (like no water and doubling the chocolate). Chilling overnight before using made little difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Great recipe that doesn't require a stick of butter and has no powdered sugar. Please, please, please read the ingredient list carefully. A square of unsweetened chocolate is found in the baking aisle - one name brand is Baker's. It is not a square of a hershey bar!! Make sure you use sweetened condensed milk - not evaporated milk. If your frosting isn't sweet enough, you didn't use condensed milk. Read the recipe - cook the ingredients, then cool!!!! Then add the vanilla. Please don't review recipes if you didn't follow the directions or read the ingredient lists. I thought this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Wow- how easy is this! I didn't use water, didn't need it. You could add strong coffee for a mocha flair though. I liked the fudgy texture and it isn't very sweet. If you need sweeter I would add a little sugar while melting the chocolate. For those who said it was bitter or not the right consistency, they need to read the label to make sure they are using sweetened condensed milk, NOT Evaporated milk. I think some people don't realize they are different. Evaporated milk is just that, thick milk, not sweetened. This is very good on brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Great recipe. I would have given it a five had it set better and maybe more instructions. It is more of a fudge frosting like others have mentioned. The recipe states to cook till thick but condensed mik and melted chips are already thick? So I cooked it for 10 minutes and noticed it sticking to the sides of the pan better so I figured it was done. After it completely cooled and I had added the vanilla, what was on the spoon stuck pretty good so I spread it over the cake which had already cooled. The frosting wasn't as thick as what was on the spoon or the sides of the pan since it spread well but kept oozing about 1/2" past the sides of the cake. Dont get me wrong. This is the best fudgy frosting I have tried and it tasted great with my dark chocolate cake. I would like to get it thicker without having to add powdered sugar since that is why I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
wow, this this topping is good! It is spreadible fudge.I loved it, only problem was that it didn't compliment the cake as much as I hoped it would.I used four bars (oz.) of bakers chocolate but it still wasn't the chocolatey topping I was looking for.I still ate it of course, it was very tasty, but I need more chocolate on my next cake.suggestion for spreading icing: wait until it is cooled to room temperature, as if it is warm it will npt hold to the cake walls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
The first time I made this, I added a stick of butter because I was afraid it would be too runny like everyone else's. I added an extra ounce or 2 (don't remember) of chocolate. I let it cool completely before spreading it over the cake and it was perfect, just as frosting should be! And OMG it tasted HEAVENLY. I tried to stay more to the original recipe recently by adding less butter, but it wasn't as good and was more runny. To add the butter, I chopped it up into small pieces and melted it little by little into the pot after the chocolate. I'm sure it's very unhealthy but who cares, it taste like the ambrosia of the gods that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
This frosting is great. Easy to make, and not too sweet. It doesn't have that yucky powdered sugar flavor that so many frostings do. This is my chocolate frosting recipe from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This recipe tastes great, but like some other reviewers, I had problems with the consistency and set up. I ended up making the following revisions: I doubled the chocolate and used 72% cacao baking chocolate. I mixed in about a tablespoon of corn starch with the chocolate and condensed milk. I left out the water altogether. The result was a slightly thicker frosting which spread on the cake better. I refrigerated the cake after I frosted it. I would still say this is more of an icing, but its easily the most delicious one I have had in a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I LOVE this choc frosting recipe! Very easy to make and I find it easy to make adjustments. Not sickeningly sweet but it's nice and rich. Since I was not able to find bittersweet chocolate, I used normal cooking chocolate instead and add more than what the recipe required (about 3-4 rows of the chocolate bar). If you prefer the chocolate to be less sweet and more chocolatey, add some powdered cocoa. This will definitely be THE chocolate frosting to use when I do my next batch of cupcakes. Does anybody have any idea on how to thicken it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I really loved this frosting,come to find out its my fudge recipe at christmas just using more chocolate. I used semi-sweet chips instead of regular baking chocolate. Thanks this is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Mcdonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States