Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I LOVE this choc frosting recipe! Very easy to make and I find it easy to make adjustments. Not sickeningly sweet but it's nice and rich. Since I was not able to find bittersweet chocolate, I used normal cooking chocolate instead and add more than what the recipe required (about 3-4 rows of the chocolate bar). If you prefer the chocolate to be less sweet and more chocolatey, add some powdered cocoa. This will definitely be THE chocolate frosting to use when I do my next batch of cupcakes. Does anybody have any idea on how to thicken it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I just made a batch last night, I don't have unsweetened chocolate so I substituted: 2 TB melted butter & 6 TB cocoa powder. I mix the milk & cocoa powder/butter mixture in a double boiler, Also a nice addition is 2 TB corn syrup. I filled & frost a 2-layer 9" chocolate cake.... yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was absolutely delicious but I found that it was just too messy. Once I let it cool down it was virtually impossible to spread without making a huge mess so I heated it up again and just poured it over my cake. So delicious though!!!!! Maybe a little too sweet so have a glass of milk on hand to drink with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyMummy07

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Goulburn, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This recipe was so bad. I would give it zero stars, if I could. It ruined my chocolate cake. It was like trying to spread thick carmel on a cake--a huge mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Rich chocolate, yum! Fantastic, especially if eaten the same day. This frosting stays most, so it won't travel easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
First time making my own frosting. Wanted to follow the recipe, but messed up, it was still good. I couldn't really cook the mixture, it was too think and kept burning to my pan. And because of that i forgot to add the vanilla. Didnt add water, but that was on purpose. The endresult was still very good and easy to spread, tho a bit sticky. I used it on a chocolate cake and on some muffins. Dont recommend the muffins, cause it will be an awefull mess trying to eat them. It looks absolutely gorgeous on he cake. Will definately make again and add the vanilla that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Wow- how easy is this! I didn't use water, didn't need it. You could add strong coffee for a mocha flair though. I liked the fudgy texture and it isn't very sweet. If you need sweeter I would add a little sugar while melting the chocolate. For those who said it was bitter or not the right consistency, they need to read the label to make sure they are using sweetened condensed milk, NOT Evaporated milk. I think some people don't realize they are different. Evaporated milk is just that, thick milk, not sweetened. This is very good on brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This is wonderful! Not too sweet - not too rich - just right! The recipe made just enough to frost 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
wow, this this topping is good! It is spreadible fudge.I loved it, only problem was that it didn't compliment the cake as much as I hoped it would.I used four bars (oz.) of bakers chocolate but it still wasn't the chocolatey topping I was looking for.I still ate it of course, it was very tasty, but I need more chocolate on my next cake.suggestion for spreading icing: wait until it is cooled to room temperature, as if it is warm it will npt hold to the cake walls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This recipe was very good. I added 3 fun size hershey bars. But will try to add a few more next time because it was a little thick. Very, very rich too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States