Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Great recipe that doesn't require a stick of butter and has no powdered sugar. Please, please, please read the ingredient list carefully. A square of unsweetened chocolate is found in the baking aisle - one name brand is Baker's. It is not a square of a hershey bar!! Make sure you use sweetened condensed milk - not evaporated milk. If your frosting isn't sweet enough, you didn't use condensed milk. Read the recipe - cook the ingredients, then cool!!!! Then add the vanilla. Please don't review recipes if you didn't follow the directions or read the ingredient lists. I thought this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Very delicious and easy, though more runny/loose than I thought it would be - I definitely agree with the person who said that this frosting is like spreadable fudge. It tasted good on my cake, but I prefer a thicker frosting. This is delicious on ice cream though, and I'd definitely make this whenever I want homemade fudge sauce for sundaes :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HulahaeBrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I love this recipe! It's a great recipe if you are out of powdered sugar(which is why I tried it)! I also did not have the baking squares so I just combined the Sweetened Condensed Milk with Milk Chocolate Chips to taste, let cool a bit, and added the vanilla. I left out the salt and water and it turned out delicious. It was plenty thick and a nice compliment to my brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I didn't have any problems getting this frosting to set. I substituted semi-sweet chips and stirred constantly on pretty low heat until most were melted. Then I turned the burner down as low as it could go and alternated stirring and not stirring until it was sticking thickly to the wooden spoon. Once it set it the fridge for maybe 15 minutes, it was a very thick paste that held its shape well. Once it was on the cake and the cake was refridgerated, it was a firm icing that wasn't going anywhere, with a very nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I love this recipe. Since it is not as thick as store bought frosting, I used the end of a wooden spoon and pressed holes throughout the cake and then poured the frosting over the top. Was terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Wow! Delicious! My son ate it OFF of the cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was great! I don't know why some people were saying that it wasn't thick enough. It was so thick for me, I could hardly get it off of my hands. I never knew it could be so easy to have a super-fudgey frosting, but this is it. I added a little cinnamon to the recipe for a spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeninoregon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is amazing frosting!! The perfect amount of chocolate and not overly sweet. I use it as a fudgy filling in some of my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
OMG This recipe bailed me out of a party once. Great hors d'oeuvre recipe for dipping strawberries!! FTW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
The best and easiest frosting I have ever made. I will never buy a store bought one ever again. Mine didn't come out runny as long as I cook it for at least 10 minutes. I used 100% cacao since the sweetened condensed milk is sweet enough. I used 100% maple syrup instead of Vanilla extract. I think it tasted better. Thanks so much for sharing! My kids think I am the greatest baker in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States