Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I love this recipe! It's a great recipe if you are out of powdered sugar(which is why I tried it)! I also did not have the baking squares so I just combined the Sweetened Condensed Milk with Milk Chocolate Chips to taste, let cool a bit, and added the vanilla. I left out the salt and water and it turned out delicious. It was plenty thick and a nice compliment to my brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I didn't have any problems getting this frosting to set. I substituted semi-sweet chips and stirred constantly on pretty low heat until most were melted. Then I turned the burner down as low as it could go and alternated stirring and not stirring until it was sticking thickly to the wooden spoon. Once it set it the fridge for maybe 15 minutes, it was a very thick paste that held its shape well. Once it was on the cake and the cake was refridgerated, it was a firm icing that wasn't going anywhere, with a very nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I love this recipe. Since it is not as thick as store bought frosting, I used the end of a wooden spoon and pressed holes throughout the cake and then poured the frosting over the top. Was terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Wow! Delicious! My son ate it OFF of the cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was great! I don't know why some people were saying that it wasn't thick enough. It was so thick for me, I could hardly get it off of my hands. I never knew it could be so easy to have a super-fudgey frosting, but this is it. I added a little cinnamon to the recipe for a spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeninoregon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is amazing frosting!! The perfect amount of chocolate and not overly sweet. I use it as a fudgy filling in some of my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
OMG This recipe bailed me out of a party once. Great hors d'oeuvre recipe for dipping strawberries!! FTW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
The best and easiest frosting I have ever made. I will never buy a store bought one ever again. Mine didn't come out runny as long as I cook it for at least 10 minutes. I used 100% cacao since the sweetened condensed milk is sweet enough. I used 100% maple syrup instead of Vanilla extract. I think it tasted better. Thanks so much for sharing! My kids think I am the greatest baker in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This tastes great but it's very runny. I kept it on the stove longer to see if it would thicken up but it just wasn't enough. I would use this to cover a bundt cake or something that might need a sweet glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Absolutely delicious! Be forewarned - it is much thinner than the Betty Crocker stuff off the shelf - you'll need a deep cake plate to catch the dripping frosting (don't let any get away!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lewisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States