Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
excuse me to those who are disapointed in this recipe "expecting" it to be thick but how can you look at that picture and think that would be good for a cake. how can you think it looks thick. : / ....... it looks like it would be good for fruit tho. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolategirl1998

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temple, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Thick, delicious, quick and easy. I love this frosting. I used fat free sweetened condensed milk and it was lovely. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very quick and easy icing for when there is no chocolate frosting on hand. I used Hershey's milk chocolate chips instead of baking squares and the final product tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Skywalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Easy and super good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
The first time I made this, I added a stick of butter because I was afraid it would be too runny like everyone else's. I added an extra ounce or 2 (don't remember) of chocolate. I let it cool completely before spreading it over the cake and it was perfect, just as frosting should be! And OMG it tasted HEAVENLY. I tried to stay more to the original recipe recently by adding less butter, but it wasn't as good and was more runny. To add the butter, I chopped it up into small pieces and melted it little by little into the pot after the chocolate. I'm sure it's very unhealthy but who cares, it taste like the ambrosia of the gods that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This frosting is really yummy and came in handy when I didn't have any butter to make more traditional frosting. This is a popular frosting in Brazil. I omitted the vanilla extract because I felt it was already delicious and the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
The taste is soo heavenly. I upped the unsweetened chocolate for a darker color. Exactly 10 minutes on medium heat. Thickened wonderfully and once chilled the consistancy is spreadable. Delicious on blackberry roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
very tasty, family loved it although it melted pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This was really good- very gooey- almost like a fudge. It worked well on top of my cake but I don't think I would use it for the whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This isnt even close to a frosting... I should have taken a closer look at the pic before I wasted time and effort and a whole cake! This turned out to be a big mess... at first it has a thin semi-icing texture and i figured it would hold since apparently you can store this at room temperature but in five minutes it just ran everywhere... look at the picture -- they pour it over the cake... not that any really stays on the cake... dont get me wrong, it has an amazing taste but I'll find something else that will be better for my needs... i already have an amazing fudge sauce recipe and even that has a better "icing" texture than this imposter. Dont waste your time if you want something to be pretty... you wont get it here... and before anyone asks... I followed the instructions to a tee and I do know the difference between sweetened condensed milk and evaporated. this is just a great tasting mess... I only gave it 1 star because it had a great taste... but dont advertise something as something its not and this is most definately not frosting!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States