Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by love2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
wow, this this topping is good! It is spreadible fudge.I loved it, only problem was that it didn't compliment the cake as much as I hoped it would.I used four bars (oz.) of bakers chocolate but it still wasn't the chocolatey topping I was looking for.I still ate it of course, it was very tasty, but I need more chocolate on my next cake.suggestion for spreading icing: wait until it is cooled to room temperature, as if it is warm it will npt hold to the cake walls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This recipe was very good. I added 3 fun size hershey bars. But will try to add a few more next time because it was a little thick. Very, very rich too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Great recipe. I would have given it a five had it set better and maybe more instructions. It is more of a fudge frosting like others have mentioned. The recipe states to cook till thick but condensed mik and melted chips are already thick? So I cooked it for 10 minutes and noticed it sticking to the sides of the pan better so I figured it was done. After it completely cooled and I had added the vanilla, what was on the spoon stuck pretty good so I spread it over the cake which had already cooled. The frosting wasn't as thick as what was on the spoon or the sides of the pan since it spread well but kept oozing about 1/2" past the sides of the cake. Dont get me wrong. This is the best fudgy frosting I have tried and it tasted great with my dark chocolate cake. I would like to get it thicker without having to add powdered sugar since that is why I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
WOW! This was great, and so easy!! I couldn't stop tasting and almost had to make more! I wonder if those who said it wasn't sweet enough used evaporated milk instead of condensed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koala red

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
This is one of the best frosting recipes that I found in a long time. Easy to use, and very tastie. The only thing that i did different was I add two sweetned choc or 2oz Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Easy and delicious. I used a full 8-oz semi-sweet chocolate bar because once I saw the listed amount melted in the pan, I could see it was not going to be chocolatey enough for me. I wanted fudgey. It tasted great. I loved the texture. The appearance was highly glossy, which I also liked. I'm giving four instead of five stars because I do prefer the taste and texture of chocolate icing made with cocoa, butter, milk and sugar better, but I usually end up burning that one, so it's only for when I'm feeling brave. This will be my standard chocolate icing from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This turned out great! Fudgy is a great way to descride it. I doubled the chocolate and it was still fabulous. What a great compliment to any cake. The consistency was great- didn't have to add any other liquids etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I used bittersweet chocolate and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This was a bitter glob, even though I followed the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Definately very fudgy! Great for those of us who don't want a too sweet flavor. It would be wonderful on brownies, and it was so easy to make! Mine never actually skinned over or "set" so I wouldn't lay any plastic wrap or foil on the cake or you'll peel off the icing. No matter, mine sat under a cake dome and was consumed rapidly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States