Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Totally delicious! A bit time consuming with all the stirring, but worth it in the end. Thick and fudgy, I'll definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Yummy. This is just like my christmas fudge recipe. I made cup cakes and put this ontop and it looked great. It presents itself so well. I use a bag of chocolate chips and one can of condensed milk. It is thick yet easy to spread. It always goes over really well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was fantastic and super easy. I followed the recipe and it worked wonderfully, yummy & just the right thickness for frosting. If you follow the directions, you won't have any trouble. I did use hersheys unsweetened cocoa powder instead of squares, the measurements are on the back of the cocoa can for this common substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnSuiter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
The consistency of this frosting is good; I think cooking it for the full 10 minutes is critical. I frosted 2 8" layers w/a small amount of frosting in the middle; about 1/3. The remaining frosting I poured on the top and spread it around until it dripped down the sides. It looked great! I think next time, I will add more chocolate, however. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I found this recipe as all I had was the condensed milk. I put it on my dairy free chocolate cake and it was delicious. Soooo rich and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This is an ok frosting but really what it is is a knock off for chocolate ganache. Use real ganache - there are great recipes on this site - and you can pour it for a beautiful finish, or whip it after it cools for a fabulous whipped frosting... cream is just better than condensed milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This recipe tastes great, but like some other reviewers, I had problems with the consistency and set up. I ended up making the following revisions: I doubled the chocolate and used 72% cacao baking chocolate. I mixed in about a tablespoon of corn starch with the chocolate and condensed milk. I left out the water altogether. The result was a slightly thicker frosting which spread on the cake better. I refrigerated the cake after I frosted it. I would still say this is more of an icing, but its easily the most delicious one I have had in a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This frosting turned out fabulously! It was nice and thick and had a rich taste. I think I may do this recipe rather than tub frosting from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made this with a can of dulce de leche (the pre-thickened caramel version of sweetened condensed milk found in the latin section of the grocery store) because I didn't realize until too late that I was out of sweetened condensed milk. I had to add a couple tbsp of evap. milk to compensate for the extra thickness (and ommitted the water), but it turned out perfectly - I would do it this way every time now. It also came together super quickly with no wait time and was a great thickness for spreading. My son usually prefers cake to frosting, but he actually ate all the frosting and left most of the cake this time! We all really enjoyed it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States