Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This frosting is really yummy and came in handy when I didn't have any butter to make more traditional frosting. This is a popular frosting in Brazil. I omitted the vanilla extract because I felt it was already delicious and the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
The taste is soo heavenly. I upped the unsweetened chocolate for a darker color. Exactly 10 minutes on medium heat. Thickened wonderfully and once chilled the consistancy is spreadable. Delicious on blackberry roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
very tasty, family loved it although it melted pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This was really good- very gooey- almost like a fudge. It worked well on top of my cake but I don't think I would use it for the whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This isnt even close to a frosting... I should have taken a closer look at the pic before I wasted time and effort and a whole cake! This turned out to be a big mess... at first it has a thin semi-icing texture and i figured it would hold since apparently you can store this at room temperature but in five minutes it just ran everywhere... look at the picture -- they pour it over the cake... not that any really stays on the cake... dont get me wrong, it has an amazing taste but I'll find something else that will be better for my needs... i already have an amazing fudge sauce recipe and even that has a better "icing" texture than this imposter. Dont waste your time if you want something to be pretty... you wont get it here... and before anyone asks... I followed the instructions to a tee and I do know the difference between sweetened condensed milk and evaporated. this is just a great tasting mess... I only gave it 1 star because it had a great taste... but dont advertise something as something its not and this is most definately not frosting!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
In all fairness, I only made this once. I cooked it for 12 minutes, stirring frequently. It has the consistancy of water. I didn't get to the point where one is suppose to add the water or the vanilla as I knew it was a bust. I don't think I did anything incorrectly so I won't be trying to make this again. I do hate to give low ratings. If you are not very experienced with this kind of thing, I suggest you keep looking for an easier recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deer Park, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Very yummy! I added a little cornstarch to the chocolate mixture. I will make again but I will use as a filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Awesome frosting!!! I agree with the reviewer who said to read the directions carefully. I don't see how you can go wrong if you start with the right ingredients. It should begin to get fairly thick as you are cooking, and I didn't even have to cook for the whole 10 minutes. This frosting is one of the best I've tried...not to sweet and very easy to make. I'll definitely make it again! Thanks or the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Excellent fudgy frosting!! Ingredients are perfect! My only complaint is I wish it made just a little bit more. I will be using this recipe often on my cakes and can't wait to try it on brownies!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very good base recipe to use to make your own substitutions. I used a little over 1/2 a cup of unsweetened cocoa powder instead of the squares, and had great success. It's definitely not a fluffy or traditional frosting, but still a delicious thicker glaze. I'll be using this recipe again, with the minor adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States