Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Great frosting if you don't want it too sweet. It worked out fantastic on the peanut butter pound cake my husband baked for his son's 28th birthday. We did not make any changes at all to the recipe. Next time I think we will make a double portion. We had enough to thinly frost the entire cake, but would have liked a little more to add curls and swirls, just to pretty it up a little. We'll definitely be using this easy and delicious recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This is my new favorite frosting recipe. It was thick, yummy, easy, and doesn't require a huge amount of powdered sugar and butter. Sweetened condensed milk comes out of the can very thick, and when you cook it, it gets even thicker. As you cook and stir it, the condensed milk starts sticking to the sides of the pan....keep stirring, and you will know when the consistency is right. It took me about 7 minutes, but that is a bit variable depending on cookware, range temp, etc. Adding the water at then end made the mixture smoother without watering it down. What you are doing here is basically making a soft candy. The best part of this recipe is that you can spread it while it is warm (not hot) on to a warm cake, and it doesn't run. For me, this made a very thick icing that I probably could have piped with had I let it cool all the way. **Because sweetened condensed milk is already thick and gooey when you open the can, reviews describing something being watery should be ignored. Most likely those cooks used evaporated milk or tried to substitute regular milk, which is watery in the can. There isn't any possible way to take a can of sweetened condensed milk and cook it until it is watery---there isn't any science behind that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Rich, fudgy, pudding-like frosting. I wasn't sure if it would turn out since it was still really thin after cooking it for what seemed like forever, but it did eventually thicken--so much that it really needed that extra tablespoon of liquid. It's totally worth it--this frosting is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I would definitely use this recipe again, but I feel it's more suited to bar cookies/brownies rather than a cake. I put it on a home made butter cake and it was good, but not quite as soft as I would have liked. I do believe it would be excellent on brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is a really easy, smooth and delicious frosting. The second time I made it my husband wanted peanut butter fudge frosting so I added semi sweet chocolate chips and 1/3 cup of peanut butter to the milk. Turned out really creamy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
it was pretty good. I had some espresso powder I wanted to use up so I added a teaspoon of that. I was looking for a recipe to use up one square of baking chocolate so I changed the servings. Now I have a half can of sweetened condensed milk to use up. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
It's very tasty! I did not have any problems with consistency at all. It started out kind of runny, but after a few minutes over medium heat, thickened up. I was looking for a recipe that didn't use powdered sugar or butter (because I was out of those ingredients) and this fit the bill perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Has amazing flavor. I used coffee instead of water. Not great for layer cakes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani's Delectables

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reynoldsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was one of the easiest and best tasting chocolate frostings I've ever made. I had no problem with it getting thick. Like others suggested, make sure you're using sweetened condensed milk and not evaporated. I used it on the Extreme Chocolate Cake recipe from this site and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
My grandma and I made this together. After we tried some she asked me to give her the link. Fudgy and delicious. Was a bit hard to spread because it was just the smallest bit sticky. We also added a bit of milk because we overcooked it a bit (it got a little too thick) but besides that it was perfect. It goes really well with yellow cake-the whole cake was eaten within 12 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States