Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I used one square of chocolate and slightly over half a can (approx. 8 oz) of sweetened condensed milk, and mixed in about 1/4 cup of dark chocolate chips. No added sugar, no water, and I forgot the vanilla, though I intended to use it. The mixture stiffened up nicely while I was waiting for the cake to come out, and I didn't have to chill it. It wasn't at all runny, like other reviewers have complained (probably due to my substitutions) but it WAS utterly amazing, and I will probably never use traditional chocolate frosting again, if this is an option. It was SO SO SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Very good! I made as written except added 3/4c milk chocolate chips, fearful it wouldn't set up as reviews said. Rich, decedent. My family LOVED it! It went on top of banana chocolate cake. I've been looking for a fudge frosting, and this is perfect! It was pretty sweet, so maybe I'd add 4 squares(4oz total) unsweetened chocolate baking bars instead of the sweetened chocolate chips. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
update to my post of 2 days ago: after 8 minutes on stove top frosting turned out a little thicker than store bought frosting. with the addition of 1 TBSP water and the vanilla it turned out as advertised. it will thinly frost a 9X13 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Was out of powdered sugar, so gave this a try. Very easy and tasted good. Will put this in my recipe box for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Very nice and easy recipe. If you want a fudge type icing leave the butter in the fridge and the sugar in the pantry and just go with this one. Easy and tasty as long as you don't mind stirring the icing for 10 minutes while it cooks. Mine was a perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I was looking for something that didn't require powdered sugar because I don't have any and didn't want to run to the store. This did the trick! Super easy and very tasty. The consistency isn't quite what you would expect for a frosting, but it's close enough and is perfect for my red velvet poke cake. Don't forget the salt...I tried it without and then added it, and it actually made a world of difference. Yummy...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MmeLizzard
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Perfectly fudgey and rich, like ganache or chocolate fudge. I've made tis twice and it has come out fantastic both times. Set perfectly, you just need to follow directions and make sure you have the correct ingredients. I did make a few substitutions the second time around. I used fat free sweetened condensed milk and did not have any baking chocolate, so I added 6tbs cocoa powder, 6tbs sugar, and 2tbs butter as a replacement. It still came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by papislilmomi
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
super easy and delicious perfect texture goes on smooth looks great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I created an Allrecipes account just to comment on this. This frosting is incredible, and I am insanely picky about my frostings. Cook this until it is like a thick pudding, and it turns into the perfect cake-frosting consistency. Tastes like a bar of Hershey's chocolate, it takes all of my willpower to refrain from eating it by itself. Notes: I used twice the vanilla, and strong brewed coffee instead of water and it is divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Great frosting if you don't want it too sweet. It worked out fantastic on the peanut butter pound cake my husband baked for his son's 28th birthday. We did not make any changes at all to the recipe. Next time I think we will make a double portion. We had enough to thinly frost the entire cake, but would have liked a little more to add curls and swirls, just to pretty it up a little. We'll definitely be using this easy and delicious recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States