Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Rich chocolate, yum! Fantastic, especially if eaten the same day. This frosting stays most, so it won't travel easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
First time making my own frosting. Wanted to follow the recipe, but messed up, it was still good. I couldn't really cook the mixture, it was too think and kept burning to my pan. And because of that i forgot to add the vanilla. Didnt add water, but that was on purpose. The endresult was still very good and easy to spread, tho a bit sticky. I used it on a chocolate cake and on some muffins. Dont recommend the muffins, cause it will be an awefull mess trying to eat them. It looks absolutely gorgeous on he cake. Will definately make again and add the vanilla that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Wow- how easy is this! I didn't use water, didn't need it. You could add strong coffee for a mocha flair though. I liked the fudgy texture and it isn't very sweet. If you need sweeter I would add a little sugar while melting the chocolate. For those who said it was bitter or not the right consistency, they need to read the label to make sure they are using sweetened condensed milk, NOT Evaporated milk. I think some people don't realize they are different. Evaporated milk is just that, thick milk, not sweetened. This is very good on brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This is wonderful! Not too sweet - not too rich - just right! The recipe made just enough to frost 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
wow, this this topping is good! It is spreadible fudge.I loved it, only problem was that it didn't compliment the cake as much as I hoped it would.I used four bars (oz.) of bakers chocolate but it still wasn't the chocolatey topping I was looking for.I still ate it of course, it was very tasty, but I need more chocolate on my next cake.suggestion for spreading icing: wait until it is cooled to room temperature, as if it is warm it will npt hold to the cake walls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This recipe was very good. I added 3 fun size hershey bars. But will try to add a few more next time because it was a little thick. Very, very rich too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Great recipe. I would have given it a five had it set better and maybe more instructions. It is more of a fudge frosting like others have mentioned. The recipe states to cook till thick but condensed mik and melted chips are already thick? So I cooked it for 10 minutes and noticed it sticking to the sides of the pan better so I figured it was done. After it completely cooled and I had added the vanilla, what was on the spoon stuck pretty good so I spread it over the cake which had already cooled. The frosting wasn't as thick as what was on the spoon or the sides of the pan since it spread well but kept oozing about 1/2" past the sides of the cake. Dont get me wrong. This is the best fudgy frosting I have tried and it tasted great with my dark chocolate cake. I would like to get it thicker without having to add powdered sugar since that is why I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
WOW! This was great, and so easy!! I couldn't stop tasting and almost had to make more! I wonder if those who said it wasn't sweet enough used evaporated milk instead of condensed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koala red

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
This is one of the best frosting recipes that I found in a long time. Easy to use, and very tastie. The only thing that i did different was I add two sweetned choc or 2oz Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Easy and delicious. I used a full 8-oz semi-sweet chocolate bar because once I saw the listed amount melted in the pan, I could see it was not going to be chocolatey enough for me. I wanted fudgey. It tasted great. I loved the texture. The appearance was highly glossy, which I also liked. I'm giving four instead of five stars because I do prefer the taste and texture of chocolate icing made with cocoa, butter, milk and sugar better, but I usually end up burning that one, so it's only for when I'm feeling brave. This will be my standard chocolate icing from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States