Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is amazing frosting!! The perfect amount of chocolate and not overly sweet. I use it as a fudgy filling in some of my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
OMG This recipe bailed me out of a party once. Great hors d'oeuvre recipe for dipping strawberries!! FTW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
The best and easiest frosting I have ever made. I will never buy a store bought one ever again. Mine didn't come out runny as long as I cook it for at least 10 minutes. I used 100% cacao since the sweetened condensed milk is sweet enough. I used 100% maple syrup instead of Vanilla extract. I think it tasted better. Thanks so much for sharing! My kids think I am the greatest baker in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This tastes great but it's very runny. I kept it on the stove longer to see if it would thicken up but it just wasn't enough. I would use this to cover a bundt cake or something that might need a sweet glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Absolutely delicious! Be forewarned - it is much thinner than the Betty Crocker stuff off the shelf - you'll need a deep cake plate to catch the dripping frosting (don't let any get away!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lewisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
While this "frosting" had a nice taste, not being too sweet like other sugar based frostings, I would not classify this as a "frosting" at all. This is more like a sauce (and not even a glaze). My cake tastes good, but it's now soaked. I would consider making some significant adjustments to the quanitities of ingredients used if you're hoping for something thicker (like no water and doubling the chocolate). Chilling overnight before using made little difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I thought this was good. The recipe itself is easy, but was a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This is sooo good! And super easy too! I was limited on ingredients for frosting, but had all of these. I took others suggestions and used semi-sweet baking chocolate - added 3 oz total. When it thickened, I removed it from the heat, stirred it for a couple of minutes, then stirred in the vanilla, stirred it for a couple more minutes, & then poured it over my 9x13 cake. It was fantastic! Thank you for this yummy and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dorr, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I really loved this frosting,come to find out its my fudge recipe at christmas just using more chocolate. I used semi-sweet chips instead of regular baking chocolate. Thanks this is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Mcdonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I LOVE this choc frosting recipe! Very easy to make and I find it easy to make adjustments. Not sickeningly sweet but it's nice and rich. Since I was not able to find bittersweet chocolate, I used normal cooking chocolate instead and add more than what the recipe required (about 3-4 rows of the chocolate bar). If you prefer the chocolate to be less sweet and more chocolatey, add some powdered cocoa. This will definitely be THE chocolate frosting to use when I do my next batch of cupcakes. Does anybody have any idea on how to thicken it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States