Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This recipe tastes great, but like some other reviewers, I had problems with the consistency and set up. I ended up making the following revisions: I doubled the chocolate and used 72% cacao baking chocolate. I mixed in about a tablespoon of corn starch with the chocolate and condensed milk. I left out the water altogether. The result was a slightly thicker frosting which spread on the cake better. I refrigerated the cake after I frosted it. I would still say this is more of an icing, but its easily the most delicious one I have had in a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This frosting turned out fabulously! It was nice and thick and had a rich taste. I think I may do this recipe rather than tub frosting from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made this with a can of dulce de leche (the pre-thickened caramel version of sweetened condensed milk found in the latin section of the grocery store) because I didn't realize until too late that I was out of sweetened condensed milk. I had to add a couple tbsp of evap. milk to compensate for the extra thickness (and ommitted the water), but it turned out perfectly - I would do it this way every time now. It also came together super quickly with no wait time and was a great thickness for spreading. My son usually prefers cake to frosting, but he actually ate all the frosting and left most of the cake this time! We all really enjoyed it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Great recipe that doesn't require a stick of butter and has no powdered sugar. Please, please, please read the ingredient list carefully. A square of unsweetened chocolate is found in the baking aisle - one name brand is Baker's. It is not a square of a hershey bar!! Make sure you use sweetened condensed milk - not evaporated milk. If your frosting isn't sweet enough, you didn't use condensed milk. Read the recipe - cook the ingredients, then cool!!!! Then add the vanilla. Please don't review recipes if you didn't follow the directions or read the ingredient lists. I thought this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Very delicious and easy, though more runny/loose than I thought it would be - I definitely agree with the person who said that this frosting is like spreadable fudge. It tasted good on my cake, but I prefer a thicker frosting. This is delicious on ice cream though, and I'd definitely make this whenever I want homemade fudge sauce for sundaes :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HulahaeBrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I love this recipe! It's a great recipe if you are out of powdered sugar(which is why I tried it)! I also did not have the baking squares so I just combined the Sweetened Condensed Milk with Milk Chocolate Chips to taste, let cool a bit, and added the vanilla. I left out the salt and water and it turned out delicious. It was plenty thick and a nice compliment to my brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I didn't have any problems getting this frosting to set. I substituted semi-sweet chips and stirred constantly on pretty low heat until most were melted. Then I turned the burner down as low as it could go and alternated stirring and not stirring until it was sticking thickly to the wooden spoon. Once it set it the fridge for maybe 15 minutes, it was a very thick paste that held its shape well. Once it was on the cake and the cake was refridgerated, it was a firm icing that wasn't going anywhere, with a very nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I love this recipe. Since it is not as thick as store bought frosting, I used the end of a wooden spoon and pressed holes throughout the cake and then poured the frosting over the top. Was terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Wow! Delicious! My son ate it OFF of the cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States