Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Great tasting! Perfect for cake, ice-cream, cupcakes, etc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
The first time I made this frosting I rated it three stars and thought it was somewhere between a glaze and a frosting. The second time I made this I realized I didn't cook it long enough. If cooked long enough it begins to really thicken almost like fudge pulling together. If cooked correctly it will be thick and you will definately need the water. Five stars after I figured it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This frosting was very good! It tasted like fudge brownies. I used cocoa powder instead of the chocolate, and it turned out great. I used the conversions on the cocoa box. This turned out very thick, so I did have to add the water. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This "frosting" is definatly yummy! I had to make some adjustments though... due to what i had on hand in the kitchen! For the chocolate i used 7 or 8 Dove Simply Smooth Dark Chocolate peices...THEN it was a little too thick ( i did add the water) SO.. hubby suggested adding peanut butter... 2 tablespoons...so now it is.. chocolate/peanut butter "frosting" havnt frosted cake (easy betty crocker "busy day" cake) we'll see how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORJOY
Home Town: St. Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Totally delicious! A bit time consuming with all the stirring, but worth it in the end. Thick and fudgy, I'll definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Yummy. This is just like my christmas fudge recipe. I made cup cakes and put this ontop and it looked great. It presents itself so well. I use a bag of chocolate chips and one can of condensed milk. It is thick yet easy to spread. It always goes over really well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was fantastic and super easy. I followed the recipe and it worked wonderfully, yummy & just the right thickness for frosting. If you follow the directions, you won't have any trouble. I did use hersheys unsweetened cocoa powder instead of squares, the measurements are on the back of the cocoa can for this common substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnSuiter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
The consistency of this frosting is good; I think cooking it for the full 10 minutes is critical. I frosted 2 8" layers w/a small amount of frosting in the middle; about 1/3. The remaining frosting I poured on the top and spread it around until it dripped down the sides. It looked great! I think next time, I will add more chocolate, however. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I found this recipe as all I had was the condensed milk. I put it on my dairy free chocolate cake and it was delicious. Soooo rich and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This is an ok frosting but really what it is is a knock off for chocolate ganache. Use real ganache - there are great recipes on this site - and you can pour it for a beautiful finish, or whip it after it cools for a fabulous whipped frosting... cream is just better than condensed milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMPNorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States