Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
It's very tasty! I did not have any problems with consistency at all. It started out kind of runny, but after a few minutes over medium heat, thickened up. I was looking for a recipe that didn't use powdered sugar or butter (because I was out of those ingredients) and this fit the bill perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Has amazing flavor. I used coffee instead of water. Not great for layer cakes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani's Delectables

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reynoldsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was one of the easiest and best tasting chocolate frostings I've ever made. I had no problem with it getting thick. Like others suggested, make sure you're using sweetened condensed milk and not evaporated. I used it on the Extreme Chocolate Cake recipe from this site and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
My grandma and I made this together. After we tried some she asked me to give her the link. Fudgy and delicious. Was a bit hard to spread because it was just the smallest bit sticky. We also added a bit of milk because we overcooked it a bit (it got a little too thick) but besides that it was perfect. It goes really well with yellow cake-the whole cake was eaten within 12 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
realy good.i dont have a scale to measure 0ne ounce so i put about half a packet of dark chocolate. the icing does turn out fudgy. just wanted to keep eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I love this frosting; I've used it numerous times, and everyone in the house loves it. Since not everyone in the house likes chocolate cake, I have to make extra of this frosting for people to eat with other desserts. It is very sauce-like and fudgy, but when used for cupcakes, it works really well. I add sugar to this icing. I also will add chocolate chips (after it cools) on top of cupcakes and cake with this frosting. Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I'm going to have to try this one again....The taste was good, but the consistancey was off for frosting...I am going to try again, maybe I didnt cook long enough or something but the over all taste I really liked...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This chocolate icing is amazing! I always burn chocolate so I cooked it in a double-boiler. I cooked it for 12 minutes after the chocolate was completely melted and added a pinch of ground coffee beans to really bring out the chocolate flavor. The texture is not really thick like a store bought icing but it is not runny like a glaze. I do not know if I would use it for cupcakes, but it works great for cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I really enjoyed this! My husband even liked it and he doesn't like sweets! I followed the directions to a 'T' except i cooked it on med low for a little longer as i tend to burn chocolate! very good and will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
It was good. I didn't have any powdered sugar, so it was exactly what I was looking for. I cooked it to long and had a few sugar crystals in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States