Concord Grape Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Too lemony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I don't think it's the recipe's fault, but this pie was not loved. the skins add flavor and color but are not fun to chew on. The pie is pretty sour. It also takes a TON of time (took me 1.5 hrs) to get the seeds out (I didn't have cheese cloth). If I make another grape pie, I'll definitely mix it with something else (apple?) to tone down the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Cloud, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
There is a "Grape Jamboree" near the town I grew up in that sold grape everything, including concord grape pie. I LOVE IT! This recipe is far from difficult and really, no more time consuming that an apple pie. I did add a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up a bit. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Wow, never heard of a grape pie. My daughter had picked a bunch of Concord grapes, on a trail close to our house, and said she wanted to make a grape pie. What the heck, lets check allrecipes.com. This recipe was fairly simple, and really delicious. About the same as rhubarb on the tartness scale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This pie was superb. I was nervous about eating a pie made out of grapes...but I was pleasantly suprised. It was tart like a rhubarb pie. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I didn't have Concord grapes, but a very large container of dark seedless grapes that my DH bought at our warehouse club. There were more than we could east so I decided to make this pie. I cut each grape in half lengthwise and squeezed them as hard as I could into the pan, skins included. Then I followed the recipe as provided. The pie turned out delicious! I was surprised at the flavoring as it had almost a rhubarb hint. I had never heard of grape pie previously, but now I have a new recipe in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Absolutely delicious! It has the wonderful sweet/tart similar to a strawberry rhubarb pie. I thought it was a snap to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This is an super pie!! Tastes just like my grandmoters!! I highly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Some family members had never heard of grape pie. They really enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States