Concord Grape Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I really did not like this pie. It smelled & looked wonderful, but the flavor was just too much, and could have used a lot more flavoring. I made extra pie filling and used some of it combined with extra sugar and fresh pears to make a crisp and it was divine. So 3 stars for the base of a lovely recipe, but not actually for the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Garber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Turned out much better than I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made this because someone gave me a basket of concord grapes and I didn't want them to go to waste. I followed this recipe exactly never having even tasted grape pie before. It was a little bit of a pain but I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was. I couldn't wait to try it so I cut into it too early I think because it oozed out but still was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tloicto
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
4 cups of grapes does NOT fill a pyrex 9" pie crusted plate. I also felt the amount of sugar was somewhat too much for the 4 cups of grapes, but my grapes may have been a little bit towards older, so they may have been sweeter. Other than the fact that it was a smaller pie than I was expecting and sweeter than I would've liked (but I could've tasted it before just stirring in the entirety of the dry ingredients) it was very good! I didn't notice any weird texture from grape skins. I did end up with a few seeds, probably because when I was squeezing the grapes I didn't check if any seeds accidentally got left in the skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
delicious! i double the recipe and cut down the sugar by 1/4 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
When working with grapes, an alternative is to boil them with 1/4 cup of water (stems included). When soft, mash with potato masher (gets the stems separated). Remove the stems with tongs. Then strain or process through a food mill. I personally think this is less frustrating than removing the grapes invidivually from the stems/skins. I freeze pie fillings as I make them in the summer, then defrost in the winter when we're ready to make a pie. Great contribution when travelling for a holiday; take filling from freezer to car, put in fridge when you get there. Frozen pie crust travels well or can be purchased upon arrival. Another great idea for your harvest is Concord Grape Sorbet. Stores great in freezer, reprocess with blender a day before you want to serve. Makes a stellar contribution when you are a dinner guest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Last summer I was lamenting that one could not buy Concord Grapes it seemed, my favorite from my childhood. Literally the next day on Craigslist a man was offering a couple of boxes from his garden, he just couldn't use them. I had never made Concord Grape Pie before, but CG's + pie = how could it go wrong? I ended up making four using this recipe, and sharing them. SOOOO GOOOD. A little time consuming to remove skins and seeds, but if you are a Concord fan, it is worth it. The only change I made was I use Tapioca in my pies instead of flour...Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I found a shortcut that saved me a lot of time: I did not prepeel or individually separate the seeds. Instead I put the entire bunch of whole grapes into the pan and mashed down on them some and turned on the heat. I stirred in part of the sugar to bring out the juices and cooked down the grapes. Between the sugar, continuing to mash the grapes, and cooking down, it released most of the liquid. Furthermore, by not removing the skins the color of the grapes were brought out without having the skins in the pie. I then strained everything through a strainer (leaving behind seeds and skin) and added the remainder of the sugar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very good reciepe, unfortunatly living on the north west coast real concord grapes are not easy to come by here. I had to use seedless concords, and these are rare here as well. If Id had the grapes from Naples NY where Im from this would have been perfect. Thanks for the reciepe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Awesome. I added a crumble top and WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States