Concord Grape Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
Excellent pie! One of the few pies that I, non-successful-pie-maker that I am, have ever turned out. The only thing I changed was that I discarded the grape skins after removing the pulp. The grape flavor was superb, hard to believe that it was so 'grape-y' just from the grapes, almost as if someone infused concentrated grape extract into it. I guess that's the difference between Concordes and other grapes, that distinct flavor. I suspect that this recipe would work well with other kinds of fruit, especially peaches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I have to disagree with the previous reviewer. First, I just used a regular food strainer to separate the pulp from the seeds and while I didn't get every drop of pulp, I certainly got most of it. And yes, the pie was a bit soupy when it first came out of the oven but after cooling overnight, it thickened beautifully. I took the pie to work and it was a great hit. I will definitely be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
"Press the grapes through a strainer or food mill..." That sounded easy enough. But after using three different types of strainers and squishing with a spoon, and then frantically with my fingers, I have learned for myself that grape pulp does NOT pass through a strainer. I was fishing the seeds out with my fingers until I gave up and called a neighbor to borrow her food mill. I still wound up with more juice than anything I could classify as "pulp." If I had not added the skins back in, I would have had nothing to make a pie WITH! I now have two messy, gooey, (yet tasty) pies that more closely resemble grape cobbler. This receipe gets a 3 for flavor ONLY. The effort required was not worth it, and I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe, I did cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup & used whole wheat flour as well. For the person who had difficulty with the food mill, you didn't boil the grapes long enough. I have also made this filling for grape tarts using phyllo dough & muffin pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This recipe is spectacular. The only change I made was to brush the crust with beaten egg white and pre-baked it for 5 minutes. Separating the skin and the pulp was a labor of love for my husband. Put a cookie sheet under the pie to avoid oven drips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is a delicious pie! We have grape vines in the yard and this was a great way to use the grapes. It was very easy to do. Separating the grapes from the skin took a little time, but it was certainly easy enough. I think I'm going to make more filling and freeze it for when I need to make a pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
We just got our first crop of concord grapes from our vines. This pie was the most interesting I found and the easiest. The grape preparation was a pain, but if you want pain free, buy your filling in a can. As for me, I delight in my pie being totally home made. I did substitute the sugar for Splenda, in the filling and Splenda Brown Sugar Blend for the topping, as I am diabetic. MMMMMMM ! Totally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I'm giving it a 4 only because preparing the grapes were a pain in the butt! The results were amazing though. DELISH! Just had a giant piece for lunch with some cold milk. I think 1 cup of sugar is WAY too much and I'm happy I only used 1/2 cup. Perfect mix of tart and sweet, has a cherry pie texture. I also used whole wheat pastry flour in place of white flour. Those are the only changes I made. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I made 2 of these pies today. The first one I used Concord grapes and I must say I had not problems at all with removing the seeds, it was very easy actually and I followed the recipe exactly as well. If you boil the grapes long enough the seeds come right out. I used a potato masher to kind of help the grapes go through the strainer and I just used the kind of strainer that you would rinse noodles or fruit in because I didn't have anything else. Still no seeds went into the mixture so it worked for me. The second pie I used Niagra grapes and I cut the sugar in 1/2 but again no problems what so ever and I have never made a fruit pie like this. It tastes wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vandalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This really had a unique grape flavor. Very strong, something you would need to get used to. I think for a grape pie this was a good recipe. My family ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States