Concord Grape Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
Excellent pie! One of the few pies that I, non-successful-pie-maker that I am, have ever turned out. The only thing I changed was that I discarded the grape skins after removing the pulp. The grape flavor was superb, hard to believe that it was so 'grape-y' just from the grapes, almost as if someone infused concentrated grape extract into it. I guess that's the difference between Concordes and other grapes, that distinct flavor. I suspect that this recipe would work well with other kinds of fruit, especially peaches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
"Press the grapes through a strainer or food mill..." That sounded easy enough. But after using three different types of strainers and squishing with a spoon, and then frantically with my fingers, I have learned for myself that grape pulp does NOT pass through a strainer. I was fishing the seeds out with my fingers until I gave up and called a neighbor to borrow her food mill. I still wound up with more juice than anything I could classify as "pulp." If I had not added the skins back in, I would have had nothing to make a pie WITH! I now have two messy, gooey, (yet tasty) pies that more closely resemble grape cobbler. This receipe gets a 3 for flavor ONLY. The effort required was not worth it, and I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I have to disagree with the previous reviewer. First, I just used a regular food strainer to separate the pulp from the seeds and while I didn't get every drop of pulp, I certainly got most of it. And yes, the pie was a bit soupy when it first came out of the oven but after cooling overnight, it thickened beautifully. I took the pie to work and it was a great hit. I will definitely be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This really had a unique grape flavor. Very strong, something you would need to get used to. I think for a grape pie this was a good recipe. My family ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is a delicious pie! We have grape vines in the yard and this was a great way to use the grapes. It was very easy to do. Separating the grapes from the skin took a little time, but it was certainly easy enough. I think I'm going to make more filling and freeze it for when I need to make a pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I'm giving it a 4 only because preparing the grapes were a pain in the butt! The results were amazing though. DELISH! Just had a giant piece for lunch with some cold milk. I think 1 cup of sugar is WAY too much and I'm happy I only used 1/2 cup. Perfect mix of tart and sweet, has a cherry pie texture. I also used whole wheat pastry flour in place of white flour. Those are the only changes I made. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I found this recipe on your website a few years ago and love it. I use this recipe exclusively. The crumble topping is a perfect compliment to the grapes. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This recipe is spectacular. The only change I made was to brush the crust with beaten egg white and pre-baked it for 5 minutes. Separating the skin and the pulp was a labor of love for my husband. Put a cookie sheet under the pie to avoid oven drips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe, I did cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup & used whole wheat flour as well. For the person who had difficulty with the food mill, you didn't boil the grapes long enough. I have also made this filling for grape tarts using phyllo dough & muffin pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
We just got our first crop of concord grapes from our vines. This pie was the most interesting I found and the easiest. The grape preparation was a pain, but if you want pain free, buy your filling in a can. As for me, I delight in my pie being totally home made. I did substitute the sugar for Splenda, in the filling and Splenda Brown Sugar Blend for the topping, as I am diabetic. MMMMMMM ! Totally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States