Concord Grape Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
i'd definitely add less sugar. i added 1 cup and will probably only do 1/2 cup next time. still - YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I got mixed reviews with this recipe. My husband said it was 'too grapey' but my father (a wine lover) said it was fantastic. I would definitely have to invest in a food mill were I to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Add just a little less flour to bring out the grape flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
The pie turned out great. I only used 3/4 cup of sugar since I don't care for a really sweet pie. Had no problems with straining the seeds out of the pulp with a regular colander (if you cook the pulp long enough...6 to 10 min....the seeds come out easily). A very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conneaut, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I experimented quite a bit with this recipe and surprisingly it still turned out awesome. I only had 1 small carton of Concord grapes from the farmer's market that nobody in the house seemed to want to eat. So I scaled the recipe down to 2 servings, baked the filling in a small glass dish, and put the filling into mini puff-pastry shells. I had added a little cornstarch but still a little runny. But so delicious! And pretty. Now if only I had some vanilla ice cream to serve it with...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised. Tasted a bit like strawberry-rhubarb (my all-time fav!) And happy to finally make use of my abundant concords.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I have always wanted to try a grape pie, and how lucky I was to try this one at age 72..great reviews from family and friends. also made use of the way to freeze the filling, this will be a family favorite. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Very good pie! I did decrease the sugar a bit (to 1 cup) for my own personal preference. I added cornstarch to thicken. I came out with a delicious and not runny grape pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
YUM. That 'bout sums it up! :) It was a lot more tart than I expected, the cooking brought a lot of the sour out...I did add extra lemon juice (1 tsp total) and took the sugar down to 1/2 cup as well, but I couldn't imagine that more sugar would have cut the sour. It was plenty sweet with that amount. I also forgot to add the butter to the top of the filling, but it was really tasty. Someone else mentioned strawberry rhubarb pie and I would have to agree. A pleasant sweet-tart. I ate mine tonight with strawberry ice cream and it was superb. Wasn't as much work as I thought from other reviews, slipping them out of their skins was easy. There were a few steps to follow, but I think the trickiest part for me was making a crust! Try this one tonight and you'll be pleased. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I served at a dinner party, and it was a SMASH hit!! The pie was devoured with zeal, and it was so yummy. I will be making again. The only change I made was boiling the pulp on the stove with the skins & a little corn starch to thicken it up a bit. Thanks for sharing the recipe, now I know what to do with all of those grapes the mother-in-law brings over from her garden!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trolt

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States