Concord Grape Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This is my first review after years of using this site...I had to write this review! This pie is fantastic! Our neighbor blessed us with his concord grapes and I've been making and freezing the fillings all week. My fingers are stained but my family still wants more! My husband has requested at least 15 fillings frozen for the winter. I've got 5 left to make...in between I'm making several fresh pies at a time. Don't be put off by having to separate the skins from the pulp..it's worth the effort. I don't add the butter, it doesn't need it. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This pie was very good. Everyone in my family LOVED it & wondered when I was making it again. It actually was better cold from the fridge. The only suggestion I waould make is to add a little more thickener......otherwise it was wonderful!!!!!!!! Sue from Buffalo, NY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Just a note about peeling the grapes: it isn't difficult! It's very easy and you can even get your children in on the act. Holding the grape, point the eye (where the stem was attached) toward the bowl, and SQUEEZE! The grape pops right out of the skin and into the bowl. (Concord grapes are of the "slip skin" variety, so named because the skins will slip right off.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
The local farmers market provided an opportunity to buy some Concord grapes. I made this pie with the grapes I bought. WOW! It was a real hit with family and our dinner guests. It even had otherwise well mannered adults at the the table licking their plates to get the last bit of this pie. The only room for improvement I found was that the filling could have been a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This pie is awesome and definitely worth the time. One thing I change everytime I make it is the amount of sugar. These grapes are sweet already, so all that sugar is not needed. I made it with 1/2 cup this year and it was the best one yet! I also upped the lemon juice to 1 teaspoon. Another thing, I never know how many grapes to buy to equal 5 cups, I got 2 pints this year and it was the the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
Totally awesome!!!! My husband claims this is the best pie that I have ever made. Be warned that removing the grape skins is tedious but all the effort is certainly worth the end result. My two-year old daughter rates it as "DEEELICIOUS!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
My husband said this was the best pie he'd ever tasted! I made smaller individual tarts using Keebler Ready mini graham cracker crusts and they were fabulous. I decreased the baking time to 20 minutes for 6 tarts. I will be making a second batch tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
this was surprisingly delicious! i wasn't sure how it would be and how the texture would turn out. but it was great. i didn't seal the edges well becuase i was in a hurry, but next time i will be more careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
it was rellay good & easy, the hardest part was the "peeling" of the grapes, but the flavor was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This pie is awesome! It's definately a lot of work to make, but it tastes great. My picky boyfriend almost ate the whole thing himself he loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States