Concord Grape Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This recipe's a keeper - pie is a cross between blackberry and blueberry! We have 5 different purple grape varieties (incl 2 different Concord types)that grow on my arbor. Each variety makes the pie taste a little different and the recipe needs to be adjusted based on the sugar and tanin properties, since the skins are used in the pie. If your grapes are too sweet, use less sugar and add some lemon juice to make the pie more tart tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This pie was a decent amount of work, but not too much. Thanks to the person who explained how easy it is to "peel" the grapes! The problem is that it is a lot of work for a pie that pretty much just tastes like grape jam in a crust. I used three different crusts, and each time my favorite part was eating the crust. I cut the sugar to a cup, and still feel like it was too sweet, but my husband likes things really sweet, so he thought it was about right. He agreed that anymore sugar would have made the pie pretty much inedible. I really wanted to like this one, particularly since I have so many Concord grapes, but it just tasted too much like jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
i'd definitely add less sugar. i added 1 cup and will probably only do 1/2 cup next time. still - YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I got mixed reviews with this recipe. My husband said it was 'too grapey' but my father (a wine lover) said it was fantastic. I would definitely have to invest in a food mill were I to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Add just a little less flour to bring out the grape flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
The pie turned out great. I only used 3/4 cup of sugar since I don't care for a really sweet pie. Had no problems with straining the seeds out of the pulp with a regular colander (if you cook the pulp long enough...6 to 10 min....the seeds come out easily). A very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conneaut, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I experimented quite a bit with this recipe and surprisingly it still turned out awesome. I only had 1 small carton of Concord grapes from the farmer's market that nobody in the house seemed to want to eat. So I scaled the recipe down to 2 servings, baked the filling in a small glass dish, and put the filling into mini puff-pastry shells. I had added a little cornstarch but still a little runny. But so delicious! And pretty. Now if only I had some vanilla ice cream to serve it with...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised. Tasted a bit like strawberry-rhubarb (my all-time fav!) And happy to finally make use of my abundant concords.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I have always wanted to try a grape pie, and how lucky I was to try this one at age 72..great reviews from family and friends. also made use of the way to freeze the filling, this will be a family favorite. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Very good pie! I did decrease the sugar a bit (to 1 cup) for my own personal preference. I added cornstarch to thicken. I came out with a delicious and not runny grape pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States