Concord Grape Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I too was confused as another reviewer about the amount of pectin. The recipe says 6 oz while the video says 3 oz. I searched for other grape jelly recipes and found that most were saying 1 pouch (85 ml) of liquid pectin to 4 cups grape juice. I put in 1 pouch and a half of another pouch for good measure. It came out fairly firm. So next time I will use 1 pouch of liquid pectin, which is about 3 oz. I also cut the sugar down to 6 cups. The jelly is still quite sweet but all around I am happy with the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This recipe was perfect! I got exactly 4 cups of juice from 3.5 pounds of grapes. I used the concords from my garden. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Work exactly as called for, amounts spot on, jelly was great and this is was my first attempt ever at canning. Just ran a second batch. First batch was not runny and exactly like store bought but better favor because they were my grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Worked perfectly on my mix of grapes from the backyard (only some of which were Concord). Not overly sweet which we like. I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Goit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Amazing recipe! This was my first time canning jelly and to my surprise it came out perfect! I used fresh concord grapes from my garden and 3 1/2lbs. made almost exactly 4 cups. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
7 cups of sugar makes the jelly so sweet you can't taste the grapes. 4 cups of sugar works about right. Not sure what the 1/2 cup of water is for - omitted that. Have made over 150 jars of jelly using this recipe this summer - with the modifications mentioned and people love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
love it, but wish there was less sugar, Don't just add less sugar, the recipe will not set up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Great recipe. My grandson asks for it everytime he comes over. He likes it on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Y'all this is so good and so easy!! I used 2 different types of grapes and it was still so pretty and so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brighton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Received a 5lb bucket of grapes from my neighbor, made this recipe and oh boy!! this has got to be the best jelly. I gave some back to the neighbor and he was astounded by how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States