Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I was introduced to Mexican sweet bread when I worked on a tree crew, and we used to go to the local bakery to get some every morning for breakfast. I've kind of missed that little tradition, and finding a close approximation really made my day, since there are no panderias where I live now. My parents liked the recipe, too. Thanks, Melissa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Great little sweet bread, just like the ones in the mexican pan shops. I made 12 that were smaller then i expected so next time i will double the recipe and make 12 big conchas like the ones i remember. Eat them fast or the topping losses its crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allanita
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This is a great recipe, easy and tasty. The only thing I would like to advice you is that instead of making 12 big conchas (on a 12 portions recipe) make the balls or conchas smaller around 20, they are easier to handle and the crust seems to hold better than in the bigger ones. I had a blast making them and the crust was so easy to decorate. In mexico usually we make not just the shells all kinds of decorations use your imagination...Thanks again for the recipe...they are delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allanita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Incredible!!!! This is an excellent recipe. An instant hit and addition to my recipe box. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I loved these conchas. They are much denser than the conchas you get in most panaderias but I actually prefer them this way. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Yum! These were a big hit with my family and friends, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
So good!!! I made them using half whole wheat flour, half white flour and oil instead of butter in the dough. Really delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is a nice recipe, and fairly easy to make. My only difficulty was with the cinamon-topping; it ended up too crumbly and wouldn't stay together. It was probably my own fault, but if you have that problem too, I recommend adding a teaspoon of water to that part. And by the way, I didn't notice on my own, but my dad pointed out that this is basically a fairly normal bread with sugar cookies on top. He thought I should've just made plain sugar cookies, but I personally prefer this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I made this 11 years ago for my 1st year of Spanish project. The flavor is so distinct and wonderful that I decided to make it for an office El Cinco de Mayo party today. Everyone loved it! It takes some practice to create "the shell" look, but it is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I love this recipe. It was easy to make. and it was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States